Coaster tutorial

September 11, 2007 at 11:10 pm 21 comments

Jox at The Knitted Blog requested an appliqued coaster tutorial, and I’m happy to oblige. Keep in mind that I’m completely self-taught, so just because I do it a certain way, that does not necessarily mean it’s the “right” way to do it! But I’ve established a way that works well for me, which I’m happy to share.

I used double stick fusible web to create my applique design. Finished coaster size is 4″x4″.

1. Cut two pieces of 4.5″x4.5″ fabric and one piece of 4.5″x4.5″ batting. Set aside.

2. Draw or trace a pattern or shape in reverse onto the liner of your double stick fusible web.  (First check to see which side of the liner you should draw on by peeling it apart slightly at the corner. You will draw on the side of the liner that’s still attached to the web.)

3. Peel off and discard the side of the tracing paper that you did not draw on. Stick the remaining side to the wrong side of a piece of fabric (it will not permanently stick until you iron it into place, so reposition as necessary).

4. Cut the fusible web and the fabric together along the line that you drew.

5. Peel off and discard the remaining side of the tracing paper, ensuring that the web stays stuck to the fabric.

6. Place the shape — web-side down — onto the right side of one of the pre-cut 4.5″x4.5″ pieces of fabric. Reposition as necessary. When you’re happy with the placement, iron it permanently into place by pressing for 10-15 seconds.

7. Repeat steps two through six as necessary until you’re done with your applique design.

8. Stack your three 4.5″x4.5″ pieces: batting on the bottom, one piece of fabric in the middle with the right side facing up, and one piece of fabric on top with the right side facing down. (This picture is set up just to show you which way each piece of fabric should face. When you’re ready to sew the three pieces together, they should be stacked one directly on top of the other and pinned together.)

9. Sew all three pieces together with a .25″ seam allowance, leaving a 1.5″ opening so you can turn the coaster inside-out. Trim the corners as shown.

10. Turn the coaster inside-out, ensuring that the layer of batting is on the inside, between the two layers of fabric. Gently push the corners out using a knitting needle or a chopstick. Hand stitch the 1.5″ opening.

11. Put something hot or cold on your new coaster. Repeat step 11 as neccessary.

If anyone follows this tutorial, I’d love to hear your feedback and see what you created.

Click here to visit my Etsy shop!

Entry filed under: Fabric, Handmade goodies, Sewing. Tags: .

Who gives a hoot? Homemade treasures

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jox  |  September 12, 2007 at 4:59 am

    thank you so much!
    I brought some fusible web yesterday so guess what I’ll be doing tonight!!

    Reply
  • 2. earthchick  |  September 13, 2007 at 9:43 am

    Awesome!

    Reply
  • 3. Coaster tutorial « Fat Orange Cat « my half of the brain  |  September 15, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    [...] Post: Coaster tutorial « Fat Orange Cat [...]

    Reply
  • 4. ninox  |  September 15, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    Great! I love the fabrics and the owl!

    Reply
  • 5. Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » November 12 ~ For the Table  |  November 12, 2007 at 11:39 am

    [...] Appliquéd Coaster Karyn from Fat Orange Cat shows how to make a cute owl design in her Appliquéd Coaster Tutorial. [...]

    Reply
  • 6. cjmuirhe  |  November 12, 2007 at 11:47 am

    I like this idea!

    Reply
  • 7. ~ Karen ~  |  November 12, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    This is a perfect gift idea for someone on my list! Your little owl is wonderful. Thanks for the great idea!

    Reply
  • 8. Paula Gipson  |  November 13, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Thank you SO MUCH for this adorable tutorial. I saw it liked on my half of the brain as well as sew mama sew. This is so adorable! I hope to make some soon!!

    Reply
  • 9. Community Blogger Award :) « Paper Kitty  |  November 14, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    [...] I’m a big fan of her craftiness.  You’ll find several tutorials on her blog including one that was recently featured on Sew, Mama, Sew! for the Handmade Holidays – 30 days of gifts to [...]

    Reply
  • 10. Melody  |  December 4, 2007 at 8:39 am

    LOVE it! I am going to try these today!

    Reply
  • 11. crazypatch  |  April 24, 2008 at 5:18 am

    I lovy very very mutch olws, thanhs for this tutorial. I send a photo when i make it.
    ( I speak english a little.)

    Reply
  • 12. Trisha Culpepper  |  September 3, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    These are adorable! My cousine loves owls and I think I’m going to use this idea to make her some coasters for Christmas. I’m also going to apply the idea to make her some matching placemates.

    Reply
  • 13. ida  |  September 14, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    I’m a “patrol leader” for an Owl Patrol. I found visors to give to them in a couple of weeks. Now I have another small token. How fun!

    Reply
  • 14. v.2 » Swap galore!  |  October 12, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    [...] this swap, I had the perfect fall color fabric in mind as seen here. The tutorial for this is found here. But I did not count on my partner hating the colors orange and brown! DOH! So I had to scramble [...]

    Reply
  • 15. Trisha Culpepper  |  November 16, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Thank you! I made these for my cousin for Christmas. You can see a picture of the front and back of them on my Flickr page at: [Trisha Flickr Page](http://www.flickr.com/photos/30501888@N05/)

    The picture was taken before I got a chance to sew up the opening. i also uses permanent sewing glue or liquid stitch to add the eyes, beek and wings and fusible web for the body.

    Reply
  • 16. Lavinia  |  December 2, 2008 at 2:38 am

    Thank you so much! I love this tutorial

    Reply
  • 17. Jason  |  December 18, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Hello and HELP!
    Ok, so my wife and I saw this post and were finally inspired to start teaching ourselves to sew. With a few pointers from friends, an ambitious goal (we are making sets of 4 coasters for many of our friends — read: making about 40 coasters!), and a deadline (Holidays are almost here) we set out on a sewing adventure! Now, I have the first four coasters sitting on our ironing board, 95% complete, and they look great!
    So now for the HELP: how do I/we hand stitch the final part closed? All along, I figured that i could figure it out when I got there, but no such luck…
    they look great, I can send a picture when they are complete, but for now, what type of stitch do you use to hand stitch them closed? If you let us know what kind of stitch, then maybe I can find some video of it somewhere and figure it out. Yikes!

    Thanks!
    -Jason

    Reply
  • 18. Judy  |  July 1, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I hope to make these for my guild’s show to sell
    Judy

    Reply
  • 19. Back In the Studio | Hannah M. Shaw  |  November 15, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    [...] then I think I am going to make some coasters. Fat Orange Cat has an amazing tutorial, I think I am gonna give it a try tonight. Ill post how they turn [...]

    Reply
  • 20. NaturalSkinCare  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:40 am

    I LOVE this owl. I’ve been hunting high and lo for something just like this to sew for my girls’ bedroom – and now I’m taking this pattern and blowing it up big to make 2 cushions for the neighbour’s Christmas presents! Thanks for your generosity in sharing… Dee

    Reply
  • [...] Coaster Tutorial [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

