That’s more like it

August 29, 2009 at 2:18 pm 4 comments

Now THAT’S what I’m talking about!

I took the green bowl back to Home Depot and picked out the matching paint color with my eyes, rather than relying on their color-matching machine that let us down the first time. It’s a perfect match, which seriously makes me giddy. It’s the little things. You know.

Alex and I painted both guestroom nightstands with the “Cool Aloe” paint, and we absolutely love how they turned out.

I also found an Amy Butler fabric that matches the tables that I’ll use to make throw pillows for the guestroom bed, which is an easy way to make the bright green look like it belongs without overdoing it.

It’s a beautiful color, but I think too much of it will overtake the room. So I’m mellowing it out with punches of red and aqua.

Once the room is finished, I’ll post pictures here, but it’s definitely the sort of room that is being pieced together, little by little, over time.  My favorite kind of room.

Entry filed under: Look what I found, Our house, Vintage/antiques. Tags: .

Going green Atomic Holiday Bazaar

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. megan  |  August 29, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    good eyes! it matches perfectly!

    Reply
  • 2. Shannon  |  August 29, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    That fabric will be perfect. I love seeing a room come together like this. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  August 30, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    This color is amazing! It looks great with the bamboo detail on the tables!

    Reply
  • 4. Mom  |  August 31, 2009 at 10:49 am

    “My” room is looking great!! Can’t wait to see it when it’s done, and in person!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

