Guestroom after and…after

September 7, 2009 at 4:26 pm 2 comments

I’ve been working on decorating our guestroom, and while I would normally show a “before” photograph, the room was basically just a small white box. So picture an empty room with white walls, and you’ve pretty much got it.

Since the room was a blank canvas and all we had to go in there was the bed, that meant I got to start from scratch and do whatever I wanted in the there.

Our guestroom is small — about 9 feet by 10 feet — and the queen bed is about 5 feet by 7 feet, so we really only had room for the bed and side tables.

I love how this room turned out. It came together very organically, one piece at a time, each piece chosen based on the piece before. When I decided to paint the side tables that minty shade of green, I thought that red would be a good accent color. But when I tried it, the red was just too harsh for the room, so I decided to go with a soft peach instead.

We still need a few more things for the room, specifically lamps for the side tables. But I don’t want to rush it and buy something we don’t love, so the lamps will happen when they happen. 

I found the side tables at the Salvation Army and painted them “Cool Aloe.” I made the curtains and the throw pillows — the green and blue flowered fabric is Amy Butler. I’ve had the two small shelves for years. They were white, and we painted them with the leftover pale aqua paint from our dining room and guest bath. The white duvet cover is from Ikea.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Handmade goodies, Our house, Vintage/antiques. Tags: .

Atomic Holiday Bazaar Give peace a chance

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  September 10, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    The room came out great! I love the fabrics and colors you chose – very calming. Can’t wait to come and stay….soon!

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  July 18, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I absolutely love the green color on the nightstand!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

