A day of fabulous vintage finds

June 22, 2007 at 12:37 am Leave a comment

I had an extremely successful shopping day today. First, I went to an antique shop in the Seminole Heights area where I often have luck. Their prices are reasonable and they have tons of great pieces. There, I found a large jade serving bowl (on an amazing sale because of a few invisible scratches) and a slightly smaller ivory glass bowl which go very well with a light blue glass fruit bowl I’ve had for years. For now, all three bowls are gathered together in the middle of my kitchen table because I love how the muted colors look together, but they’ll probably end up on display in my hutch eventually.

 Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I’ve been on the hunt for eclectic kitchen chairs for about a year, and in the meantime I’ve been living with only two kitchen chairs. That means dragging in various other stools and such from around the house when it’s more than just me and Alex at the dinner table. I found my 1920s table in another great Seminole Heights antique store about six months ago. Today, I visited one of my favorite Tampa stores — Vivant House Inc., which doesn’t have a website, otherwise I’d link to it here — and the owner Anthony gave me an amazing deal on two small chairs and a sweet vintage bench that he repainted and refinished himself. Before Anthony got his talented hands on it, it had rusty gold legs and a blue vinyl cushion, most likely from a doctor’s office.

Before I saw that bench, I had never considered using a bench instead of chairs, but I loved it so much that I had to find a use for it. I love the idea of throwing three pillows with different fabrics back there. The pillows that are on there now are just temporary; I’m going to sew new ones with some Alexander Henry fabric that I recently purchased. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And here it is, tucked away behind my antique table:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There is nothing more satisfying than a successful afternoon hunting down vintage treasures. I think my next two projects are making pillows for the bench and making a tablecloth for our outside patio table.

Entry filed under: Look what I found, Vintage/antiques.

The red quilt The infamous unfinished quilt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

