Baby steps

June 23, 2007 at 1:24 am 1 comment

I’ve wanted to refinish these two chairs ever since we moved into our new apartment. My landlord inherited these beauties from an old tenant, and they’ve slowly deteriorated over the years. They’re a complete mess, but they’ve got a good soul and great bones, and I’m really hoping I can do something beautiful with them.

 Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I really, really, really want to paint them pink, but the chairs will be in a “communal” courtyard that my landlord and neighbor use, and I’m sure they would not appreciate pink.

I’ve never refinished furniture like this, so I bought a couple of cans of spray paint today to practice on something smaller that wouldn’t devastate me if I were to completely screw it up. I dug out an old cardboard jewelry box that I bought years ago but had been hiding in a drawer because I no longer like the design.

 Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

A couple of coats of robin’s egg blue later (my neighbor asked if my favorite holiday is Easter), and I’m now using it for sewing supplies, which I spent the afternoon reorganizing. I love how it looks next to my other blue craft storage boxes.Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I’m proud to announce that I officially have the hang of spray painting. Rusty chairs, I’m comin’ after you next. You have been warned.

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Look what I found, Sewing, Vintage/antiques.

The infamous unfinished quilt Paper boxes and kitties’ day out

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex  |  June 23, 2007 at 2:37 am

    Great colors! You have such a keen eye for design! Keep it up, I can’t wait to see what else you do with your blog and its design elements.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

