Beautiful Sunday

July 3, 2007 at 12:12 am Leave a comment

Alex and I spent our Sunday morning in St. Petersburg and our afternoon driving north on the Gulf Coast through crowded beach towns. We ate lunch at Central Cafe, our favorite restaurant in St. Pete.  The all-organic cafe serves omelets, cappuccinos, wraps and salads, including several vegetarian options (love! love! love!), and offers a delicious homemade raspberry vinaigrette that’s mild and creamy. I wish I had taken a picture of my roasted vegetable wrap and home salad, but I was too busy eating it.

We spent several hours in the Museum of Fine Arts before traveling north along the coast. Amidst the giant generic surf shops (WHY?!?!) and sunburned flip-flopped tourists hide some beachside gems, if you look hard enough. One gem is a tiny — and I do mean TINY — ice cream and candy shop in Madeira Beach called The Candy Kitchen.

We were two of only six people waiting in line to order ice cream, and the place was crowded. People who came in after us had to stand in line out on the sidewalk, but nobody seemed to mind. The candy-filled shelves make you feel like you’re in a 1960s penny-candy store, the ice cream is homemade and absolutely delicious, and the walls and low ceiling are covered in people’s signatures. And if the toilet wasn’t sprinkled with the urine of the previous potty-goer (not the store’s fault – I’m pretty sure it was a recent occurrence), I would have been a little more impressed by the candy-wrapper-covered bathroom walls. Eh, can’t win ’em all. The cup of chocolate peanut butter ice cream made my day, Candy Kitchen

I brought a tote bag on our trip that I haven’t used in quite a while. I went through a phase where I made several simple, lined totes after seeing similar designs selling for a ridiculous amount of money at stores like Urban Outfitters. I knew I could make something exactly like it for much less. Well…free, since I used fabric I already had.

 

I love these types of bags (this one in particular) because the pattern is so simple, but the bag is so functional and versatile. If you can sew a straight line, you can make this bag.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Look what I found, Look where I went.

Asian-inspired miniature cards Lazy holiday with random thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

