If mud and rust had a love child, it would be called Rustoleum

July 4, 2007 at 10:59 pm 2 comments

I know you’ve been perched tensely at the edge of your seat awaiting an update on the metal patio chairs, so….today is your lucky day! Official patio chair update!

Today, Alex sanded off all the excess paint and rust from the chairs, and we took them to the alleyway to spray them with Rustoleum, which is a muddy rust-colored primer. Damn, that stuff is ugly. I almost feel like we took a step back aesthetically, although I know it’s a completely necessary part of a project like this.

Here’s a picture to remind you of what they originally looked like:

And here is a photo of what they look like now:

This experience has taught me that the only thing uglier than a white rusty chair with ripped, faded cushions is a cushionless chair that I’ve intentionally painted to look exactly like mud, if mud was capable of rusting. But these are works in progress, and I can’t wait to see what they look like after we’ve painted them powder blue.

No, kiwi green.

No, cherry red.

No, sunflower yellow.

As you can see, I haven’t decided yet. And don’t even get me started on what fabric I’m going to use to reupholster the cushions. The journey continues!

I’d like to take a moment to thank my sister, Kristen, for inviting us over for a delicious dinner this evening. She made chicken in a creamy cheddar cheese sauce, served on a bed of rice, and the rain cooled the Tampa air off just enough for us to eat outside comfortably. 

We chatted about Roald Dahl novels, fireworks, my upcoming barbecue, the man I think Kristen will marry someday even though she completely disagrees, and Gary Larson’s “The Far Side.” It was a lovely evening.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Slaved over a hot stove, Vintage/antiques.

Lazy holiday with random thoughts From spaghetti sauce to cotton balls

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chellie  |  July 5, 2007 at 7:59 am

    Can we vote? I think green!

    Reply
  • 2. dbj  |  August 28, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Hmmmm…if we are voting…I cast mine for light silvery green with fabric that has green leaves and lavender flowers…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

