And the winner is…

July 8, 2007 at 12:19 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday, I bought spray paint to finish painting our two metal patio chairs. After standing in the spray paint aisle of Home Depot for 20 minutes, going back and forth among Colonial Red, Key Lime, Marigold and Blue Sky, I finally chose Blue Sky.

I put two coats of paint on the chairs this morning, and even though they no longer look like this…

…they’re still not done, as they have bits of the muddy rust color peeping through. I ran out of spray paint, so I’m allowing them to thoroughly dry, and in the meantime must purchase a third can of paint in order to finish my project. I’ll post pictures when I’m completely done painting them.

I should have known all along that I would end up choosing light blue. It’s my second favorite color (next to pink, which I try not to push on other people), it’s the predominant decorating color in my home (I even bought powder blue sheets yesterday), and it’s a color that is beautiful, cool and soothing without being too cheerful (like Marigold), too trendy (like Key Lime), or too dark (like Colonial Red).

After I got the Blue Sky spray paint home yesterday, I decided to also use it to refinish my very first dumpster dive — a small, simple stool that I found in 1998. So far, I’ve painted the legs, and my next step is to reupholster the padded seat. Here is a “during” shot:

The stool sits at my vanity table, and I use it almost every day, so I can’t believe I never thought to refinish it before. I’m 97.3 percent sure that I’m going to reupholster the seat in this Alexander Henry fabric:

But that 2.7 percent of uncertainty means that when I post the photo of the finished stool, there really could be just about any fabric on there.

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Look what I found.

From spaghetti sauce to cotton balls The staple gun is my new best friend

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

