A cup of tea on a rainy evening

July 16, 2007 at 7:10 pm Leave a comment

As long as I don’t have to drive in it, I love the rain.

 

A rainy evening calls for a hot cup of tea, some candles, and a kitty or two nearby. So after driving through a big storm on my way home from work, I’m now safely home, kitty in lap, and I’ve poured myself some tea. But what makes me even happier than the tea itself is the beautiful cup and saucer that it’s served in.

About two months before my last birthday, I dragged Alex to one of my favorite antique shops where I found a set of vintage hand-painted Red Wing dinnerware. The pattern, called Lute Song, was produced in the late 1950s. I mentioned to Alex that I thought the dinnerware was beautiful, and then we left, and I forgot about it.

 

But he didn’t. He surprised me with the entire set — eight plates, eights cups and saucers, a serving dish and bowl, a sugar bowl, and a creamer — on my 30th birthday. I’m a lucky girl! Even though we use them regularly, I still get excited every time I eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich off one of the hand-painted plates, or pour some coffee into a cup.

I love thinking that someone bought this set brand new in 1958. Maybe a husband even bought it for his wife as a birthday gift. Perhaps a family used the dinnerware for years and years until the kids moved out of the house and the set ended up packed away in the attic. The plates, the sugar bowl, the cups have a story, even though I may never know what it is.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Slaved over a hot stove, Vintage/antiques.

Paper goods and polka dots Baked tilapia with coconut breading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

