Tablecloth art and more powder blue

July 23, 2007 at 7:48 pm 1 comment

One of the best feelings is when you come across a great find, and you’re prepared to pay full price for it, but when you get to the register, the cashier informs you that it’s on sale. Oh, happy day!

But first, as promised, more on the Vera tablecloth that I wrote about earlier today.

I found this beautiful piece of art in the form of a marked-down tablecloth at one of my favorite vintage shops, and I immediately knew I wanted to stretch it over a canvas frame like I did with the piece of fabric art I made quite some time ago. I didn’t know anything about the tablecloth other than that I loved it.

A lady who rents one of the booths at the shop saw me looking at it and told me that it was a “Vera piece,” and pointed at the ladybug signature in the lower right corner.

She informed me that Vera was a famous artist whose designs were used on scarves, flatware, and linens in the 60s and 70s. I would have purchased the tablecloth no matter what, simply because it was a beautiful piece, but I was thrilled to have a bit of history to go along with my find.

When I got home, I found some information about Vera and her designs online, as well as some of her vintage pieces for sale on eBay, but I have yet to find any information about the particular piece that I purchased.

I invite comments or emails (karynjeanne12@gmail.com) from anyone who knows anything about my new art piece.

In my search for a large serving bowl for our upcoming barbeque, I found the perfect item. It’s thick plastic, so it’s sturdy enough for an outdoor barbeque, but it’s a beautiful shade of powder blue and lined in white, so it complements the rest of our kitchen. Specifically the light blue glass bowl that I’ve had for years.

It was the last one on the shelf, so I grabbed it immediately. And it was rather inexpensive to begin with, so I was quite surprised when the cashier informed me it was an additional 50 percent off. It couldn’t have been more perfect!

 

It will fulfill its purpose as a large serving bowl for the barbeque, and then will become our new fruit bowl. One can never have too many powder blue items in one’s kitchen!

Entry filed under: Look what I found, Vintage/antiques.

Vera Neumann tablecloth The world’s tiniest oven (or “You cooked THOSE in THAT?!”)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. alex  |  July 23, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    That was so much fun to do! We must do it again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

