The world’s tiniest oven (or “You cooked THOSE in THAT?!”)

July 25, 2007 at 10:49 am Leave a comment

This is my oven.

 

I do all my cooking here, from dinner for just me and Alex, to the party we’re hosting for 20 people this upcoming weekend. Sometimes I have to giggle when I look at it and realize just how tiny it is, but the fact is, it gets the job done. Nestled in my tiny kitchen, it doesn’t look so out of place.

Up until a few years ago, I had no interest in cooking. I boiled pasta on my stovetop, heated up frozen pizza in my oven and used the microwave a little too often. Other than that, my kitchen rarely got much use. I ate out a lot.

Then one day, tired and bored of eating sandwiches and microwave meals, I started cooking a little bit here and there. My friend gave me a relatively simple jambalaya recipe, and when it turned out well the first time, I started inviting people over for dinner and making it for them.

Then I found a fantastic turkey burger recipe online, and I realized it wasn’t very hard to chop onions, measure spices, and mix it all together. In fact, it was…well…fun!

Then something truly magical happened. I started to see the art in cooking. The beauty of mixing things together which — on their own — may not seem very special, but when combined in just the right way, create an amazing texture, a delicious flavor, a beautiful color.

It’s almost like quilting. Choosing just the right amount of just the right ingredient (yellow fabric or red? Thyme or parsley?) to create the perfect final product. And what a feeling of pride and accomplishment to spend time creating something that turns out just as you imagined!

I have fallen in love with cooking.

So on that note, here is a delicious recipe for roasted new potatoes that I’ve been making a lot recently. I’m going to alter the recipe slightly so that we can grill them for our party this weekend, but the overall flavor will be the same.

To serve six, you will need…

2 1/4 pounds of new potatoes (quartered)
3 tablespoons of vegetable oil
3 garlic cloves, minced (or 1.5 teaspoons of pre-minced garlic in a jar)
3/4 teaspoons of dried rosemary
3/4 teaspoons of dried thyme
3/4 teaspoons of salt
1/4 teaspoons of pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Combine all ingredients in a plastic bag or a bowl with a lid, and shake to coat. Spray a 9″x13″ pan with cooking spray and pour potato mixture into the pan in a single layer. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until potatoes are tender and slightly browned.

I suggest stirring the potatoes with a wooden spoon or spatula after they’ve been in the oven for about 15 minutes so that they cook evenly and don’t stick to the pan. 

The potatoes turn out just a little crispy on the outside, and tender on the inside. They’re quite flavorful without being overwhelmingly seasoned. Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Slaved over a hot stove.

Tablecloth art and more powder blue Barbeque in the courtyard

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

