I heart NY

August 6, 2007 at 9:57 pm 2 comments

My mom, sister and I visited our family in New York last weekend.

We spent Saturday in the city with our cousins Ellen and Demitri, which included a trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

 

This is as close as visitors can get to the Lady these days. Alex says he remembers climbing the stairs to her crown, but we went no further than an observation deck just beneath her feet. It was still a breathtaking site.

When we got back to Long Island, we visited my Great Aunt Chris, who had a kettle of tea on the stove and an Entenmann’s cake (a bit of a tradition in our family) waiting for us. Aunt Chris showed us a beach bag she’s crocheting for her granddaughter.

Look carefully. Can you tell what it’s made out of?

At first glance, it looks like a straw bag, but it’s actually made out of grocery bags! It’s the perfect material for a beach bag, because water simply beads up and rolls right off of it. I was so impressed that I made her sit with me and show me just how she made it. Unfortunately, I don’t know how to crochet (yet!) and we didn’t have time for her to show me that evening, but she gave me all the instructions up until that point.

We also visited my grandmother, who turned 85 a few days ago. Her house is the one thing in my life that’s remained constant. She moved there when I was 2 years old, and it’s stayed exactly the same since — from the furniture to the curtains to the decorations to the dish towels to the faded blue-flowered wallpaper in the downstairs bathroom.

When we sleep over, my sister still sleeps on the same thin roll-out cot one of us has slept on for 28 years. I remember trying to fall asleep on Christmas Eve on that cot when I was 7, wanting desperately to stay awake to hear Santa, but knowing he wouldn’t come if he knew I wasn’t sleeping.

My grandfather’s mandolin has hung in the same spot in the foyer. It’s starting to fall apart. Every meal we’ve eaten at her house has been at the large dining room table, covered in a lace tablecloth, beneath her chandelier.

I’ve moved 15 times since my grandma moved into that house. It’s nice to have at least one constant in my life, one place that I know will never change.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Look where I went.

Birthday cards and my very first swap So…much…pink…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  August 7, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Thanks for writing about our visit to NY and posting some great memories. You captured our visit very well!

    Reply
  • 2. Ellen  |  August 14, 2007 at 6:48 am

    WOW! I laughed, I cried. Really. OK I’m a dork; I printed this section of your blog and put it in my photo album with our pictures of the day — including me with my fist up the Lady’s nose…..!
    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

