What do aprons, pillows and bathroom carts have in common?

August 9, 2007 at 6:42 pm 3 comments

A few years ago, an acquaintance of mine who was visiting me looked at a purse that was hanging on a hook less than six inches away from curtains made out of the exact same fabric and asked, “Did you make that purse?” Who other than a crafter would have a purse that matches her living room curtains?

I never waste fabric. Especially fabric that I love.

I don’t remember when or why I purchased several yards of this light blue fabric, but I ended up making two throw pillows out of it quite a few years ago.

When a year or so later I needed a subtle contrasting color for the straps of my apron, it was my first choice.

(On a side note, I went on an apron-making kick last Christmas, sewing aprons for myself and two of my best friends. I keep saying I’m going to make another one for myself, but other projects come up, and there’s never enough time. This one makes me feel like June Cleaver, even when I wear it over jeans and a t-shirt.)

A month ago, I decided to enhance a basic silver cart that we use in our tiny bathroom. Lack of storage requires us to “display” most items in our bathroom that would normally be stuck behind a cabinet door, so we have to be creative to make sure it doesn’t end up being an eyesore.

The bottom of each shelf has rather large gaps in it, which makes it impossible to store anything small. So a simple solution was to cut three pieces of sturdy cardboard, spray them with adhesive spray, and cover them in fabric.

The covered cardboard pieces fit perfectly on the bottom of each shelf.

Who other than a crafter would have a bathroom storage cart that matches an apron and two pillows?

Entry filed under: Fabric, Handmade goodies, Sewing.

So…much…pink… Sick day

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex  |  August 9, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    If only I had scrubs in that same blue fabric. . .

    Reply
  • 2. Jox  |  August 19, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    a thrifty girl after my own heart, i really like your blog, we seem to have a lot in common. i’m linking and liking.

    Reply
  • 3. Melissa  |  November 15, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this light blue fabric…YUMMY!!! I just found your site through thimble mentioning your owl appliqued coaster tutorial. I’ve been browsing a little here and I need to go but will be back later to definitely see more wonderful things on your blog. LOVE IT!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

