Hello, fellow Swap-botters!

August 18, 2007 at 10:57 am 6 comments

I’m sipping coffee in my pajamas on this lazy Saturday morning, and I just received my partners for the blog swap. Welcome Melanie, Laurina, Melony, Linda, Mandy, Citty Lou, Bron, Janemarie, Evie and Natty. I hope you enjoy my blog!

Crafts, sewing and cooking are very big elements of my life, so I created this blog several months ago to share my love of those things with friends, family, and anyone else who finds it interesting.

I always knew that my dad’s mom — who we called Tiny Grandma — was crafty, and I figured I took after her. She passed away when I was 5 years old, but proof of her skills is everywhere.

Every December, my mom decorates the Christmas tree with Tiny Grandma’s hand-painted wooden ornaments and wears her hand-beaded wreath pin to various holiday parties.

Hidden away in a drawer are some of the beautiful hand-drawn cards and notes that she sent us.  

But her embroidery needlepoint (thanks, Ellen!) is her one talent that we can actually use and truly enjoy all year. I always assumed that Tiny Grandma bought nice furniture and then simply embroidered needlepointed the design in the middle.

But last weekend, while visiting my parents, my mom told me that Grandpa and Tiny Grandma would purchase and restore antiques. As a final touch, they would reupholster each item with an embroidered a needlepoint design that she specifically created for that piece of furniture.

This is a prayer bench that they restored.

I never realized just how much time and love went into these pieces, and they mean so much more to me now.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Vintage/antiques.

Goodies from Pennsylvania Old t-shirts die hard

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandy M  |  August 18, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    I really like your blog. Great pics! It shows a little about who you are, and I like that.

    Reply
  • 2. Bron  |  August 18, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    What a buzz to see my name on your blog! Thanks for the welcome. I haven’t got further than the fist post but had to comment about your Tiny Grandma. I had two very creative grandmas (albeit in two totally different ways) and can appreciate the joy found in admiring their work. It’s wonderful to have things they have created surrounding me in every day life. I think creating is a way of celebrating life. Thanks for sharing and now I’m off to read the rest of your blog….
    Bron

    Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  August 19, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Dad and I really enjoyed reading this entry and seeing the joy you get from the treasures Tiny Grandma so enjoyed making! She always loved creating things, both for her home and to give to other people to make them happy. You are like her in so many ways….and that’s a good thing! Mom

    Reply
  • 4. Evie  |  August 20, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! I am loving your ideas for re-imagining your old t-shirt (esp. stretching it out on canvas). I myself have a lovely, but shed-acious dog, so I know only too well the power of the Hair. And the bathroom shelves look great!

    Reply
  • 5. Natalie  |  August 21, 2007 at 7:49 am

    Oooh I got a mention on your blog, thank you for the mention.

    I love your blog, I especially love the pieces from your Tiny Grandma 🙂 I too know the delights of fur collecting, I am sure our beloved furbabies do it on purpose.. I have 5 of the little darlings and I am constantly hoovering.. Although the 2 dogs aren’t too bad it’s the darling cats, and they do insist on sleeping on the bed..lol

    Hugs Natalie (Swapbot)

    P.s Hope you don’t mind but I have added you to my blogroll list.

    Reply
  • 6. Ellen  |  August 22, 2007 at 10:39 am

    I remember Tiny Grandma’s candles — do any of them still exist? I remember after the reception at your Mom’s and Dad’s wedding, she took all the candles off the tables and melted them down to make other candles..for the newlyweds?
    PS — it’s not embroidery,it’s NEEDLEPOINT on all the great furniture…sorry, that’s the Professor in me! LOVE YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

