Let the cat out of the bag

August 25, 2007 at 2:28 pm 3 comments

Finally enough sunshine to take a proper photograph of the lemon totebag.

Heavy storms passed through last night, much to the dismay of 7-year-old AJ. My cousin Craig, his wife Cindy, and their sons, AJ and James, visited from Valdosta, Ga., and all AJ wanted to do was jump into the pool. He was fidgety but patient all evening waiting for the raindrops to stop.  

Alex and I joined them last night for a delicious dinner at their friends’ house. Renee and Matt used to live near Craig and Cindy in Valdosta, but moved to the Tampa area. It was a fun, comfortable evening. It’s wonderful how many of my out-of-state friends and family I get to see because of trips they take to Tampa and the surrounding areas, like Sarasota and Fort Myers.

This totebag reminds me of summer. Muggy days at the beach with my mom. Sand stuck to the back of my legs. Seven-year-olds anxiously waiting for the rain to stop. The smell of chlorine. Drinking pink lemonade with my feet in the pool.

Back home in Pennsylvania, they’re soaking up the last few days of summer before autumn seeps in. I’d like to design some pieces that are inspired by the rusty oranges and deep reds that will soon appear on the trees up north, even though it will be 95 degrees and sunny for months here in Florida.

The totebag is 14″ wide by 13″ tall, lightly padded, and lined in pink. And, apparently, quite cozy.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing.

Gaining momentum Taggedy Tag

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toni  |  August 27, 2007 at 6:32 am

    this made me giggle this morning!!

    Reply
  • 2. lisa  |  August 28, 2007 at 8:11 am

    I love the tote, the lemon fabric is yummy! Looks like Kitty is enjoying it too! Thanks for your comment on my blog! Lisa.

    Reply
  • 3. dbj  |  August 28, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Karyn…How wonderful…the eye of the cat….Your comments have had me remembering good summer memories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

