Learning curve

August 31, 2007 at 7:27 pm 1 comment

When I try a new craft for the first time, it’s not unusual for me to use the first one as practice. If I go into it with that mindset, I don’t feel so bad if (okay…when) it doesn’t turn out the way I want.

I used fusible web to alter a plain cardboard magazine holder. I’m not yet sure if I like how it turned out. I like the concept of it, but I don’t think I love the actual results.

I also learned that you can, in fact, hold the iron on the fabric for too long. I’m not going to tell you where, but if you want to play “Where’s Waldo” with the burn marks, go for it.

I’ll try this sort of thing again, but in the meantime, I have to let this project marinate for a few days to determine 1) if I like it or not and 2) what direction I want to take on future projects.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Handmade goodies.

Red polka-dot coasters And it was all yellow

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. littlewanda  |  September 7, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    I like these – a fun way to jazz up something very ordinary!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

