Homemade treasures

September 13, 2007 at 8:02 pm Leave a comment

I’m seeing one of my oldest and dearest friends this weekend for his 30th birthday. Tony lives back home in Pennsylvania, but his parents have a home in Fort Myers, which is about two hours from where Alex and I live in Tampa.

We’ll spend Saturday in Fort Myers celebrating Tony’s birthday with him and his family.

I made a card for Tony this evening. I used muted earthy colors that I think he’ll really like. I purchased a present for him last weekend, which I’ll post pictures of after I’ve given it to him. Don’t want to give too much away!

I met Alex’s mom, Marta, for the first time when she visited from Pennsylvania this week. What a lovely woman. Her visit was too, too short.

She showed up at our apartment last night with a bottle of Muscadet Sevre et Maine, a delicious dry white wine that went perfectly with the salmon that I cooked for dinner. We spent a wonderful evening eating and drinking wine and chatting. She also brought us as a gift a beautiful painting — a Marta original.

She’s a talented artist, and she very carefully selected a painting of hers that she thought we would like and that would work well with the other items in our home. We’ve hung it in our bedroom where the light hits it at just the right angle in the morning.

The golds and greens are soft and muted but still quite beautiful.

 

We joked that we would store it in the closet and only put it up when we knew she was coming over, but that’s not going to happen! It’s staying out full-time.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Paper goods.

Coaster tutorial Enjoy a big, heapin’ bowl of serial on your birthday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

