She’s no Nancy

October 22, 2007 at 7:30 pm 2 comments

These little guys caused me a lot of pain this weekend. Who knew crafting could be so dangerous?

I sliced my thumb open on a piece of sharp plastic while trying to shove a new spool of thread onto the spoke in my thread organizer. I jammed my seam ripper into my pointer finger. And, worst of all, I sewed these bags, hunched over my sewing machine for hours, when I should have been nursing my bad back. And the next day, I paid for it. I. Was. In. Pain. I spent Sunday cringing every time I moved.

Before moving to Tampa in January, I had regular appointments with Nancy, the world’s best massage therapist. I get horrible knots in my upper back, and visiting Nancy every six to eight weeks kept them at bay and severely decreased my back pain.

Nancy’s pressure was perfect. She knew where all my problem areas were. She talked just enough to make me feel comfortable while still allowing me to completely relax. I trusted her 100 percent. She has spoiled me for all other massage therapists.

Since moving to Tampa, I haven’t bothered finding a new massage therapist because I know nobody will compare to Nancy. But after spending three days barely able to turn my head, I made an appointment for earlier this evening with someone a friend recommended.

She did a really good job, and I actually do feel better. But the whole time, I kept thinking, “That’s not how Nancy does that,” and “Nancy usually dims the lights more than this,” and “She’s good, but she’s no Nancy.” 

I’ll make an appointment with Nancy next month, when I’m in town visiting my parents for Thanksgiving. I’ll have to tell her that I saw someone else, but I’ll also tell her “She wasn’t you.” She’ll understand.

These bags will be for sale in The Boutique very soon. Both bags are made of sturdy corduroy and lined in a contrasting cotton fabric. Each is about 14″ wide at its widest point.

A third bag is halfway done and will be completed when my back is feeling better. (Yes, I learned my lesson.)

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Sewing, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Another day, another apron Apron or art

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ellie  |  October 23, 2007 at 4:35 am

    Oh Kayrn I know exactly how you feel. I suffer with a reoccurinng neck and shoulder problem. It’s only an appointment at the osteopath every 5-6 weeks that keeps it manageable. And I know what you mean about finding one particular person who you like – someone else is just not the same 😦

    Reply
  • 2. Claire  |  November 1, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    i hope you are better!
    i like the bags… a dream!
    sorry i try speak english!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

