Another day sneaks away

October 27, 2007 at 9:31 pm 2 comments

I promise, promise, promise that The Boutique will be open by November 1. I have a few more things that I want to finish making before I go live with it. I also have to write descriptions for all my items and figure out pricing and shipping. I started to think about all the little details and got a bit overwhelmed and panicky. So I made a “to do” list (which always calms me), and I realized I have everything under control.

Then I remembered the three special (non-Etsy) orders I have pending, not to mention all the Christmas presents I want to make, and I started getting overwhelmed and panicky again. Oy. Calm down. You can do this.

I’m convinced Nola thinks she’s helping me by positioning her chubby little self smack dab in the middle of my work table. That’s what I get for putting it in front of the window, I suppose. 

 

My parents are in town visiting my sister and me this weekend, so another potential sewing day floated away today. Don’t get me wrong — I adore my family and love spending time with them. My point is that it’s difficult to open The Boutique because life keeps getting in the way. Hence the panicking.

They’re heading home tomorrow after brunch, so I’ll have all afternoon to sew.

I made a new bag for The Boutique. This is the third bag in this style — which I’m calling the Luna Satchel — that I’ve made, and I love it so much that I want to make one for myself.

I almost kept this one but have decided to make another one after November 1 as a gift to myself for actually opening the damn shop!

It’s lined in a beautiful Asian fabric. I’ve fallen in love with this color combination.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing, The Boutique.

Apron or art Circles and pumpkins

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toni  |  October 28, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Nola is a great watch kitty!!

    I love your bags! You have been busy this past week!

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  October 29, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    I love the lining material.

    You can do it with the boutique. Lists are great – just remember to be realistic about how much you can get done in one day/week, that way you won’t panick or tell yourself off for not acheiving it. Also, remember to reward yourself from time to time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

