Cozy home

November 9, 2007 at 7:17 pm 1 comment

I got home early from work today and had enough time — and sunlight — to be able to take some pictures around the apartment. So here is a mini-tour of my home. Although I didn’t clean or set anything up before taking the photographs, I did conveniently manage to not aim my camera at parts of my home that I find particularly embarrassing. You don’t need to see the rows and rows of water bottles waiting to be taken out to the recycling bin, or the unmade bed, for example. Trust me.

But I will let you see a portion of my craft corner in the exact way I left it after sewing last night.

Sometimes I fold and organize and put stuff away. Sometimes I don’t.

It usually depends on when I plan to sew next. Why put everything away if you’re only going to take it all out again in 24 hours? Come on, crafters, you know what I’m talking about. The green surface in the above picture is a small bureau that my old landlord gave me. It was left in an apartment that I rented from him, and he let me repaint and keep it.

My “office”:

This is where I sit to play computer Scrabble, write blog posts, and any other fun computer stuff. Hell, I’m sitting here now. I love that framed print. I bought it when I lived alone, and a few months later, Alex and I moved in together. I’m glad he isn’t the type of guy who minds having feminine decor in the house, because I would have hated to get rid of it. (One of the many reasons I love him!)

Right now, the bedside tables that Alex is slowly refinishing are smack-dab in the middle of our living area. We don’t want to keep them outside overnight in case it rains, and we really don’t have any place to store them, since we live in a one-bedroom apartment. So here they are in the middle of the room, and, of course, Nola has decided to make them her new favorite resting place.

In the background of the above photo, you can see my poor dress form weighed down beneath two aprons (one hung like a super hero cape around her neck) and the black Fiona messenger bag. I know a lot of people name their dress forms, but I haven’t. I refer to her as a female, but I don’t call her by a proper name. Any suggestions?

The aqua blue ottoman Alex and I bought a few weeks ago has become a catch-all. It often holds a cell phone or a remote control or a glass of wine, but today, it holds Quinn.

The brown shag rug (from Target) was a house-warming gift from my mom when I moved to Tampa. Below, my chaise-side table holds my idea journal, pink cell phone and appliqued leaf coasters. We use the coasters every day. You probably can’t tell from the picture, but they’re a mess — mostly coffee stains.

I got the table years ago at Kmart. I typically don’t buy furniture from Kmart, but I loved the clean, curved lines and the light wood, and I got it for a great price. It was also the perfect size for the tiny apartment I was living in at the time, which didn’t have room for a full-size coffee table. It’s so versatile that it’s made the move with me to several apartments since then.

Alex and I are off to St. Petersburg tomorrow for an art show. I haven’t heard too much about it, so I don’t know what to expect, but hopefully I’ll come back with some good stories and tons of photos.

(Reminder — Fat Orange Cat: The Boutique is now open. Happy shopping!)

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Kitties, Things and stuff, Vintage/antiques.

Daylight fading Not-so-lazy Sunday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Charli  |  November 21, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    I have the same brown shag rug and I LURVE it! Got it at Target last Christmas with a gift card from MY mom! Very odd coincindence! I have a razr too, but mine is the magenta one. I’ve been eyeballing the red ones and wishing I had that one instead, though. Maybe they’ll come out with a green or orange one I can lust after soon…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

