Not-so-lazy Sunday

November 11, 2007 at 9:44 pm 5 comments

Alex and I were busy little bees today.

I finished a messenger bag that’s part of a special order for a friend of mine.

The bag is going to be a Christmas present for her 19-year-old sister. Making items for a specific person I’ve never met before makes me a little nervous.

If I make something for someone I know pretty well, I can pick out fabrics based on what I know she likes. If I’m making something for my Etsy shop, then I know someone will only purchase it if she likes it. But making something for a person I’ve never met before and know very little about can be tricky.

My friend helped me decide what fabrics to use, so I really hope she likes it.

I also made an apple green Luna Satchel for myself and started one for the Boutique, but it was too dark to take pictures. Maybe tomorrow.

Alex finally finished the bedside tables, and they look amazing. He painted them ivory, sanded the edges to age them and added new hardware.

The one on the left is his. It’s a little bit darker than mine because he put a layer of antiquing stain on it and then we decided we didn’t like it as much as the non-stained piece. So he sanded some of it off, but it’s still a bit darker. I love that the two pieces are just different enough to make them unique, but they are still obviously a pair. And even though they have a shabby chic look to them, his has a masculine vibe. I know that makes him happy.

Alex also included a secret message for me.

Do you see it? You have to look hard, because it’s very subtle.

Yesterday’s art show in St. Petersburg was a bust. We drove all the way to St. Pete only to find out that the website where I got the information was wrong — the art show wasn’t until today. I was really disappointed that we missed it by a day, but we ended up checking out the St. Pete Farmer’s Market and then heading home for a wonderful lunch at the Wine Exchange.

In the evening, I took a long walk and saw a manatee in the harbor about half a mile from our apartment. It was one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen! So….no art show, but I got to see a manatee. I’d say that’s a fair trade.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, The Boutique, Things and stuff, Vintage/antiques.

Cozy home One of these things is not like the others

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ellie  |  November 12, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Yeah, very subtle!

    I love the shabby chic look, not that I’ve got much of it yet.

    Reply
  • 2. Penny  |  November 12, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    The bag is great! Love the colors and fabrics you and your friend chose! And those bedside tables!!!! They are just gorgeous! What an awesome story that you FOUND them and then transformed them.

    Reply
  • 3. coco8199  |  November 13, 2007 at 12:01 am

    I’m in love with that bag! Very nice.

    I really like the bedside tables too. I wish my room could hold bedside tables but my bulky antique set takes up all my space.

    Reply
  • 4. Erika  |  November 15, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Love those tables, they really turned out great! Ohhh how I want a bag…but I just don’t need anymore. *sigh* Your Luna Satchels are awesome btw. :o)
    Oh and you’ve been tagged! teehee. Come visit my blog and check it out. *wink*

    Reply
  • 5. God's Rock Angel  |  November 17, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    The messenger bag is fab!!!! I love it!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

