Thanksgiving vacation

November 26, 2007 at 6:31 pm 6 comments

Five whole days without sewing. Without fabric. Without thread. Without cardstock. Without corduroy bags or reversible aprons or Etsy shops or blogs.

Instead, I spent a wonderful long Thanksgiving weekend at my parents’ house in Fernandina. And because there were no stashes of fabric or rotary cutters anywhere to be seen, I filled my days with family time, relaxation and other lovely events.

I took long walks on the beach with my mom, sister and this guy:

 

And this guy:

I went to my favorite Fernandina restaurant for lunch with Alex and my family, and we visited this great antique store downtown, which the owners had expanded considerably since last time I was there.

My sister and mom made pumpkin whoopie pies from scratch. I wish I could say I helped, but all I did was sample them to make sure they were as delicious as they looked. (They were.)

About six years ago, I made my parents a quilt for their anniversary.

My mom keeps it draped over a rocking chair in the family room. I’m glad she displays it, but I really wish they would get more use out of it. Mom, if you’re reading this, it’s okay to get dog hair on the quilt!

It’s so interesting to see what my style was six years ago. I created this quilt based on what I thought they would like and what I thought would match their home, but even with that criteria, it’s so different than anything I would make now.

For those of you who celebrated Thanksgiving, I hope you had a wonderful holiday with your families!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Look where I went, Sewing, Vintage/antiques.

Boutique update And I missed it. A lot.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maybenotbutthenagain  |  November 26, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    As always, beautiful photography, Karyn! You have a simplicity with words and clarity of communication which even the most seasoned writers would envy.

    Any word on a possible handbag for men? Anything in time for Christmas, or is that asking way too much?

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  November 28, 2007 at 4:39 am

    Karyn, I am so glad you had such a relaxing Thanksgiving – sometimes we need a complete break, even if we feel otherwise.

    My bag and apron arrived today. Thank you so much, they are beautiful.

    Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  November 28, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Karyn, this is an awesome depiction – in words and photos – of our holiday weekend! I love visiting your blog to get your perspective on our time together. The photos are wonderful (although Jazz and Trane’s heads are NOT that big)! Okay, I’ll try to use the quilt. (And although your tastes may have changed, I still love it!) xo

    Reply
  • 4. Melissa  |  November 30, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    I am with you on the change in our tastes now compared to even a year ago. I love seeing the baby quilts I’ve made in the last 5 years for my nieces and nephews to see how things have changed.

    Reply
  • 5. Pat Bettger  |  December 13, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Karyn, loved this blog although not really sure what a blog is – you can tell I am a child of the 60’s!
    All your crafts look wonderful – and your patio with the lights looks so inviting – can I come for dinner soon? Even though I am in PA, I could put in a date.
    love, Pat

    Reply
  • 6. Mary Ann Howat  |  January 6, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Hi,
    I live in Fernandina Beach and am the co-chair with your mom of the Night Owls. I’m glad to see that you are keeping the art of sewing alive. There is a terrific website that has aged birds that are handmade called crowsintheattic. You can also see her stuff on ebay. When I next need an apron as a gift, I will think of you.

    Mary Ann Howat
    Fernandina Beach (around the corner from your mom)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

