And I missed it. A lot.

November 28, 2007 at 6:58 pm 2 comments

For weeks straight, I sewed and pinned and cut and measured and ironed and sewed some more and cursed my sewing machine and stabbed my finger with my scissors and ripped out an insane amount of stitches and contemplated throwing various crafty items across the room in moments of overwhelming frustration.

Why was I doing all this again?

 

Then I took off for Thanksgiving. And I went to my parents’ house. And I didn’t sew a single stitch for almost a week. And I missed it. A lot.

Missed choosing the perfect fabric and then watching its wrinkles disappear beneath the heat of the iron. Missed choosing the right shade of off-white thread. (Ivory. With a touch of pink. But not too peach.) Missed the cozy feeling of my craft corner. The piles of fabric. The cats falling asleep on my cutting table.

 

The sound the rotary cutter makes when it slices through fabric. Wearing my measuring tape around my neck like a scarf with my pin cushion strapped to my wrist like a bracelet.

It might not make sense to people who don’t sew. Or maybe it can be compared to other things — like running or writing or playing guitar or gardening. Something that you have such a passion for that it’s become a part of who you are and you feel a little off kilter when it’s missing.

So after taking a vacation from sewing, and selling my final apron from my Boutique (thank you, Ellie at Littlewanda!), I had a sudden and inexplainable urge to make an apron last night.

One side is powder blue with random white polka dots and a stripe of red polka-dot trim at the bottom. The other side is a graphic black and white print.

I’ve posted the apron in my Boutique here. Hope you like it!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Thanksgiving vacation New month, new bag

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex  |  November 28, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    Beauteous! I do believe that’s your best one yet, what with its clever reversiness and bold colors its even more impressive in person! I wish I could buy one and wear it, maybe one day you’ll make a man-apron. The manpron. It would need flames and stuff blowing up, you know, traditional man-cooking shenanigans. Great work!

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  December 1, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I love the graphic black and white print – works perfectly with the red polka dot. There’s something really retro about the blue and red – I can’t find the right words – but it definitely works!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

