Happy birthday, Mom!

December 8, 2007 at 11:43 pm 3 comments

I spent today with my family and Alex celebrating my mom’s birthday. We toured a beautiful historic home in Gainesville, Fla., and then had a leisurely lunch – and amazing desserts – outside at a local cafe.

The special gift I was working on in this post became a set of coasters for my mom.

My parents’ family room has touches of burgundy, their kitchen is pale yellow, and their master bedroom is sage, so I chose fabrics that would coordinate with the main colors of their home. Plus, I just love how these colors look together.

This evening, Alex and I bought strings of lanterns for the courtyard. The only source of light we had out there was a bright, obnoxious spotlight, and we’ve been wanting a more subtle way to add some light at night.

Even though we were exhausted by the time we got home, we wanted to string the lights up tonight so they would be ready for tomorrow evening’s dinner party.

And then we decided to hold our own party a day early.

 

I suppose that’s what the right lighting and a cozy courtyard does. 

CHEERS!

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Wine.

Pretty packages One little paw

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  December 9, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    The photos don’t do the coasters justice! Thanks for the thoughtful gift and for helping me celebrate my special day. (By the way, the coasters fit in wonderfully with our color scheme, just as you planned.) xo

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  December 10, 2007 at 7:36 am

    You’ve been busy! The lantern pictures are beautiful.

    I hope your cold is better now 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Chellie  |  December 10, 2007 at 11:44 am

    The lanterns are gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

