Living in the fabric store

December 16, 2007 at 6:46 pm 4 comments

As I’m typing, Nola is sprawled out on my lap. Every now and then, Alex will call her name, and she’ll jump up, walk across the table, and plop into his lap. Then I’ll call her name, and she’ll cross back over to my lap. I love, love, love how she always has to be involved in everything. Here’s a picture of her from yesterday’s TreeFall “photo shoot.”

She’s hiding behind the blue tissue paper like I won’t figure out that she’s there. Clever little thing, isn’t she?

One of my favorite steps in creating a new item for someone is picking out the fabric. It’s an exhilarating and integral part of the process, and I’ve spent hours poring over bolt after bolt of fabric. Sometimes I wish I could live there. Right in the Quilters Premium aisle.

Today, my goal was to find fabrics for a gift for Alex’s mother, so he came with me and joined in the process. And he actually enjoyed it. And having him there with me was wonderful. He likes that we’re making the gift personal by spending time picking out just the right fabrics, and that his mother is going to get a one-of-a-kind gift. I love having him so involved.

I finished Chellie’s ivory Toby Tote yesterday.

Toby Tote

I worked with interfacing for the first time. I’d like to buy some heavier interfacing to incorporate into a larger, sturdy men’s messenger bag. That’s an after-the-holidays sort of project. No time these days!

Toby Tote

Chellie’s tote is made of ivory corduroy and lined in green and cream with deep plum handles. There’s a removable fabric-covered plastic canvas base for extra support.

I have one bag left to make for Chellie’s order, and then I need to (quickly) move on to Christmas gifts. I’m thrilled to get to hand-make so many gifts this year, but it certainly is time-consuming. However, I think it’s worth it, and I hope the recipients think so too.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing.

Unlikely treasures All Toby Toted out

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emily  |  December 17, 2007 at 10:38 am

    I’ve been reading your slice of life here for a few weeks now, and I’m really enjoying your pictures and writing. I love this ivory Toby Tote! The fabric combination is lovely!

    I wish you speedy stitches for you gifts. Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  • 2. Chellie  |  December 17, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Tee hee! I love reading what other people write. Rachel will love this I’m sure! Oops, hopefully she won’t read this…

    Reply
  • 3. Ellie  |  December 18, 2007 at 8:16 am

    ‘speedy stitches’ I like that! I’m waiting for my first proper sewing machine to be delivered this week, so I’m wishing for straight stitches!!

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  December 19, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    Great color combination here. really unexpected ivory, eggplant, and some bright green for dash. Good idea with the fabric covered base for support. I’ll have to give that a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

