Christmas in Florida

December 21, 2007 at 4:14 pm 1 comment

Having grown up in Pennsylvania, I still find it strange that I can spend an afternoon in late December doing this.

I’m not supposed to be wearing a tank top and flip-flops in December! It’s supposed to be cold and windy and snowy. Don’t get me wrong — I love the weather here in Florida. But even after living here for years, it still feels weird to spend Christmas in shorts on the beach.

Let’s be real, though. What I really miss about living up north is having snow and wind and ice on Christmas. On that particular day, it’s cozy and fun and beautiful. Any other time, it’s just a huge pain. I remember skidding my way to work on icy mornings with everyone driving 20 miles an hour on the highway, except that one stupidly brave SUV who sprays dirty slush onto everyone’s windshield as it flies by. Not. Fun. At. All.

That’s the fabric combination for my final Christmas project, which unfortunately will go out a little late this year. More on that another time. Don’t want to give too much away just yet.

This time, it was Quinn, and not Nola, who had to get in on the action.

I’m sure Quinn’s thought process went something like this: “I’m just lying here in this sunbeam, minding my own business. But wait. Is that a pile of fabric? Are you taking a picture of FABRIC? Instead of ME? Well, we’ll see about that. We’ll just see about that.”

You’d think we ignore them based on the amount of attention they demand, but trust me, they’re the most spoiled cats in the world.

I leave today right after work for my parents’ house. I can’t wait to get the holidays started. I love Christmas. I love buying or making gifts for people who are special to me. I love wrapping paper and curly ribbon. I love Christmas trees and twinkly lights and watching movies with my family. It’s my favorite time of year. Yes, even in sunny Florida.

Happy and safe holidays everyone!

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Kitties.

All Toby Toted out Sewing machines and pops of red

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ellie  |  December 24, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Merry Christmas, Kayrn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

