Sewing machines and pops of red

December 26, 2007 at 11:15 pm Leave a comment

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas. I spent several relaxing days with my family in Fernandina. We opened gifts together on Christmas morning, and then I drove back to Tampa to celebrate Christmas that evening with Alex.

The gift I’m most excited about — because of all the possibilities it brings — is the sewing machine that my parents gave me. I’ve been sewing for years on a very basic machine that did the job, but with zero bells and whistles. It’s been a great little machine, but I knew it was time to move on to bigger and better. And, more importantly, sturdier.

Sewing machines

This is my old machine sitting in front of the new one. The old one looks so tiny! I spent much of today sewing on the new machine, and I must say, I love it. It’s so smooth and easy to use.

Alex gave me three beautiful prints for Christmas that he purchased on Etsy from an artist named Elsita.

Cold

Her work is really amazing. The prints are even better in person. The colors are so rich.

Plant an Idea

I love the pops of red in each image.

Within Reach

Alex’s 30th birthday is on Dec. 28, and I have a big surprise trip planned for him. He knows we’re going somewhere, but he doesn’t know where. So far, he knows that we’re taking a plane, and that we’re going someplace colder than Tampa. (That last hint doesn’t eliminate too many places.) We’ll be flying home on Jan. 1. January?! 2008?! ALREADY?!?!?!  

I plan to update The Boutique in early January, after things have calmed down a little bit. I love making gifts for people, but I can’t wait to get back to making stuff “just because.”  

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Sewing, The Boutique.

Christmas in Florida Happy birthday to Alex!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

