Happy birthday to Alex!

December 27, 2007 at 6:56 pm 2 comments

I had two full days off — yesterday and today — between Christmas with my family in Fernandina and taking Alex somewhere (secret!) for his 30th birthday. Our flight takes off at 6:30 a.m. tomorrow, so we’ll be up and on the road very, very early. I don’t even want to think about how early we have to wake up.

Alex had to work today, so I had the entire day to myself to run errands, do laundry, finish up some projects and get ready for our trip. But I slept late, had a leisurely breakfast, and spent the morning watching HGTV and sipping coffee.

Cereal and coffee

And then I noticed we only had two Christmas cookies left.  

Christmas cookies

Um…I mean one Christmas cookie.

Christmas cookie

Oh, who am I kidding. We now have zero Christmas cookies left. I’m actually quite shocked they lasted that long. My mom, sister and I made a large batch of them from an old recipe that came from my grandfather’s family. My mom has been making the cookies since she was a kid, and has made them every year since my sister and I were born, and I hope to pass the recipe on to my kids someday. The recipe is pretty simple, but baking them together is what makes it so special. And they’re amazingly delicious.

Around 11 a.m. today, I realized Alex would be home in just a few hours, and I had several big things that needed to be completed before he got home in order to keep the destination of our trip a surprise for as long as possible. That got me off the couch very, very quickly.

sewing project

Among several secret birthday-related things, I also finished a gift that I’ve been working on using the fabrics I mentioned in a previous post. I love working with my new sewing machine. It’s a huge step up from my old machine, which would screw up stitches and jump from side to side for no apparent reason. It’s so nice not to have to worry about that anymore. 

Because this gift is for someone who hasn’t received it yet, I don’t want to give too much away. But I really love the fabric combination, and I’m very happy with how the whole thing turned out.

sewing project

Alex and I will be out of town until Jan. 1, and I won’t be writing any posts until we get back. But when I write next, I’ll be able to tell you where we went!

Enjoy your last few days of 2007, and Happy New Year to everyone!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Sewing, Things and stuff.

Sewing machines and pops of red Back to real life

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily Swell  |  December 28, 2007 at 10:19 am

    “We now have zero cookies left.” I saw that one coming a mile away. 😉 Happy birthday and safe travels!

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  December 29, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Oh and I so wanted that last cookie!

    My first proper sewing machine arrived last week and I got it out for the first time Boxing day evening. So excited. I’ve managed to thread it all up, but I can’t have done it right because the stitches are tight on the front and coming loose on the back. I think I might need sewing lessons LOL

    Have a fabulous new year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

