Back to real life

January 3, 2008 at 12:47 am Leave a comment

Alex and I returned home from his surprise 30th birthday trip late yesterday. I took him to the Philadelphia area — specifically the quaint town of New Hope, where he grew up — to visit his mom, brother and closest friends. He got to celebrate his 30th birthday and New Year’s Eve with his favorite people, and I got to meet his friends for the first time. I’d heard so much about them, and it was great to finally put faces and personalities with names.

The town where Alex grew up is a charming Pennsylvania village with old stone houses, windy roads and a fairy-tale historic downtown area filled with vintage stores, boutiques and art galleries. On the way back from the airport on our first day there, we stopped by a small farm to feed the chickens.

I was sure they’d peck my feet, so I kept my distance. Pennsylvania is filled with little places like this.

I grew up about an hour west of where Alex grew up. We didn’t know each other back then; we met after we had both moved to Florida. But going back to Pennsylvania — even to a town I had never visited before — felt like going home. There is a very specific feeling and look to Pennsylvania. I had forgotten how beautiful it is up there.

We spent some time in the city as well. I’d been to Philly many times, but this trip, we were taken down all the little side streets by Alex’s friend who lives downtown. I’d never gotten to see Philly that way before.

The trip was amazing. We had such a great time, and we easily would have stayed an extra few days if we could have. I know Alex really misses his family and friends.

The gift I was working on before our trip was a reversible full apron for Alex’s mom, Marta.

We gave it to her while we were up there, and she immediately said she would never wear it because she was afraid to get it dirty. But she hung it from a hook in her kitchen and showed it to everyone who came over, so I certainly can’t complain about her not wanting to wear it!

I took today off from work to recuperate from our trip. I had planned to get some sewing done to try to update the Boutique, but I ended up being completely lazy and napping on the couch with the kitties.

 

Alex and I got so little sleep during our trip that my body really needed to catch up on rest. I’m glad I took the day off, otherwise I may have been nodding off at my desk.

I’m so sad vacation is over. I spent the first half of it with my family, and the second half of it with Alex’s, and it’s hard to get back to the routine now. But tomorrow, it’s back to real life.

Happy New Year!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Look where I went, The Boutique.

Happy birthday to Alex! Octopi, fluffy pink chairs and Debbie Gibson

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

