Octopi, fluffy pink chairs and Debbie Gibson

January 6, 2008 at 1:19 am 2 comments

My original plan for today was to spend most of it sewing away like a madwoman in order to update the Boutique (which desperately needs it). But at the last minute, good friends of ours called to let us know they were coming into town, and my slave-to-the-sewing-machine plans changed. There was no way we would miss seeing them!

We decided to visit the Florida Aquarium, which Alex and I had never been to before, even though we’ve lived two miles away from it for almost a year now. It was just one of those things we never got around to doing before today. I could have sat in front of the octopus tank for hours, watching it gracefully suction-cup its way up the glass wall. What an amazing creature.

On our way back from the aquarium, we stopped by Squaresville, the fabulous vintage shop in Hyde Park where we bought our aqua blue ottoman several months ago.

Squaresville

This store makes me smile. There is so much fun stuff to look at and play with and sit on.

Pink chair

They have a fuzzy pink chair that I would have bought in a heartbeat had there been anywhere in our apartment to put it. I mean, a fuzzy pink chair doesn’t exactly blend.

Pink chair

Alex tested out my — I mean their — pink chair and declared it both comfortable and fluffy. And pink.

Orange room

Do not adjust your monitor. That is, indeed, a very, very orange room. And yes, that is a naked picture of Burt Reynolds hanging on the back wall. They have Naked Burt coasters and cutting boards as well. Did I mention I love this store?!

wigs

The front room is filled with wigs, kitchy sunglasses and racks of vintage and vintage-inspired clothes, like Debbie Gibson t-shirts and floor-length dashikis.

After parting ways with our friends, I decided to try to get some sewing done when I got home. I had a wonderful new design floating around in my head for a brand new pleated slouchy bag, and when I sketched it out on paper, it looked even better than it did in my head!

So I measured and cut and ironed and pleated and sewed and started getting really excited, and then……yuck. The final product looked just awful. And awkward. I’m pretty sure I know what went wrong, and I have some thoughts on how to improve it, but I just didn’t have the energy to start from scratch tonight. Maybe tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Look where I went, The Boutique, Things and stuff, Vintage/antiques.

Back to real life Speaking of octopi…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emily  |  January 6, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    LOL on Burt Reynolds – thanks to my mom’s own infatuation, I saw Smokey and the Bandit more times than is healthy for a child.

    Maybe they have something going on with the dashikis. I read in Lucky that African print shift dresses are “what we’ll be wanting to wear months from now.”

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  January 7, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    This store looks like so much fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

