Speaking of octopi…

January 6, 2008 at 6:27 pm 3 comments

Yesterday’s trip to the aquarium inspired me.

Pillow

A couple of years ago, when I first purchased my couch, I made covers for the very large and somewhat early-90s-inspired pillows that came with it (they have a burgundy geometric pattern on them — think Cosby sweater). But lately, I’ve been itching for a change. The first covers I made were a little too small, and the huge, awkward, lumpy pillows never fit in them quite right.

So today, instead of making stuff for the Boutique like I promised myself I was going to, I made one new pillowcase for our couch.

Pillow

I loved watching the octopus at the aquarium yesterday. It was so graceful and beautiful and complex, and I really wanted to see if I could create a slightly more “cartoony'” version for the pillowcase.

Pillow 

I appliqued the octopus into place and trimmed the entire case in red polka-dot fabric to give the pillow more presence and to tie it in with the pops of red we have throughout our main living area.

Pillow back

I made the back of the pillow out of an inexpensive neutral solid. I overlapped two pieces to create a hidden opening so that I can remove the pillowcase to wash it, or to eventually replace it.

Pillow

I am very pleased with how the pillowcase turned out. I’m going to make another one for the second pillow, which still has the old ill-fitting case on it. I’ll most likely use the same fabrics as the new pillowcase but applique a different image on the front. One might think one can never have too many octopi in one’s living quarters (surely this has been a topic of discussion of all the great thinkers many times over the years), but I disagree. I think one octopus is enough.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Handmade goodies, Sewing.

Octopi, fluffy pink chairs and Debbie Gibson Fiona Bag and old friends

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  January 7, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Oh my I love this! The little octi looks great in that aqua color. The fun aqua foot stool is the perfect companion. Do you use fusible interfacing to make this? Sort of like the owl coasters you blogged about before?

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  January 7, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    The aqua and red go together so well. I love the Octopus!

    Reply
  • 3. Jox  |  January 8, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    How special!
    Are you going to continue with the under the sea theme for your second pillowcase?

    We used your Apple coasters for the first time last week. We have been saving them for an adult only dining expierence! They are such fun and everyone loved them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

