Rainy Sunday

January 13, 2008 at 3:01 pm 3 comments

I love days like this.

Banana pancakes at noon.

pancakes

Sipping coffee while it drizzles outside.

Nola and coffee cups

Being generally lazy and not feeling guilty about it. Isn’t that what Sundays are all about?

quinn and alex

The seahorses from yesterday’s post are part of a pillow I made for The Boutique.

seahorse pillow

The seahorses are appliqued, but I added another level of detail by also stitching around them, which is something I’ve never done before. It was a slow, precise process, but I love the results.

seahorse stitching

I normally just hem the opening in the back, but this time I chose to bind it with the same purple fabric that I used on the front.

pillow back

The pillow is listed here. I had big plans to make another one today, but seeing as how it’s a lazy Sunday, it’s raining and the couch is calling my name, that may not happen.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Intertwined Confidence and grace

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  January 14, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Isn’t it wonderful to have days like this!! Your pillow turned out beautiful!! Your kitties are so cute! I just love it when you post pics of them, thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  • 2. Emily Swell  |  January 14, 2008 at 11:47 am

    When I was a child, one of my favorite books was about seahorses. This is a great pillow – I like the play between the two seahorses.

    Reply
  • 3. Betty  |  January 15, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Seahorses! These are beautiful. I like the stitching touch. By the way–I just finished your owl coaster tutorial (i made it pillow size) and posted it on my blog http://www.bettyninja.blogspot.com . Thanks for the tutorial and your blog is very inspiring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

