Confidence and grace

January 14, 2008 at 7:27 pm 4 comments

I started making a tablecloth for the kitchen table about six months ago. Besides simply procrastinating, I never finished it because I love our kitchen table and was unsure about covering it up. I bought it at an antique store shortly after moving to Tampa. It was built in the 1920s and refinished in white in more recent years.

Six months ago, I found the fabric for the tablecloth, and I sewed two pieces together to create the right dimensions, but just never got around to hemming it. But we use our kitchen table for everything — dining, writing, throwing bags of groceries onto, working on our laptops — and the top, which is made of soft wood, is really starting to take a beating. So I knew last night it was time to finish the tablecloth in order to protect our table.

kitchen table

The soft blues and greens work perfectly as accents in our main living area. The table’s curved, chunky legs are still visible, so the style and integrity of the table isn’t completely lost.

Before you go thinking that our table is immaculate and empty, with nothing cluttering it except two glass bowls placed perfectly in the center, here’s a picture of what it usually looks like, if you were to add a pile of mail, a remote control and a cat or two:

kitchen table

I’m really lucky that Alex allows me to decorate our home the way I like. I always consult him before buying or making anything for our home, and 99 percent of the time, he tells me to go for it. It’s not that he doesn’t care or that he’s just giving in — it’s that he appreciates my style and, even though it leans toward the feminine side, he actually likes it.

Would he go out on his own and purchase a soft blue flowered tablecloth? Probably not. But he appreciates the aesthetics and understands what it does for the space. Trust me — I realize how lucky I am.

I’ve started another pillow for The Boutique.

octopus pillow

The seahorse pillow that I wrote about yesterday was purchased by a woman for her 6-year-old son (I’m assuming my customer is a female, and I apologize if you’re not!). (Edit: I finally found her name on the Etsy receipt. I wasn’t being very perceptive.) 

She said it would be perfect for him because his animal spirit totem is a seahorse. I wasn’t familiar with a spirit totem, so I did a little research after receiving her email and found out that it’s an animal guide that you feel a strong connection with that helps instruct and protect you as you navigate your way through life.

octopus pillow

I read elsewhere that the seahorse represents confidence and grace — two very impressive characteristics for anyone to have, especially a 6-year-old. I love knowing that my work has meaning to someone and that it’s going to a good home.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Handmade goodies, Sewing, The Boutique, Things and stuff, Vintage/antiques.

Rainy Sunday Dreary weather

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  January 15, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Another great octi here. Once again your choice in fabric colors is great. I really like the color choice for the seahorses as well. Purple is a tough color to use without looking too mystical or girly. I like the way you get around that and make it work.

    Reply
  • 2. God's Rock Angel  |  January 15, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    I love the Octipi cushion! It’s soooo cool!!!!!

    My other half would never let me decorate the way I want to. We’ve decided that when we have the space I’m going to have a room which is like my sewing/craft/anything else room and that is going to be my room it’s going to be painted how i like lol.

    I tagged you on my blog Please take a look if you have the chance.

    Reply
  • 3. Ellie  |  January 17, 2008 at 5:23 am

    I love the tablecoth – the colours are just perfect. Are you thinking of making them to sell in your store?

    Reply
  • 4. Monika  |  January 18, 2008 at 3:18 am

    Yay! My son is going to love the pillow. Altho’ I do confess, it’s headed for my bed, but so he has a place to rest his head when he comes to snuggle. My little seahorse guy on such a lovely seahorse pillow.

    Can’t wait!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

