Here comes the sun…and there it goes again

January 19, 2008 at 4:36 pm 1 comment

The sun made an appearance for about 10 minutes this afternoon, so I grabbed my two new pillows, a chair and my camera and rushed outside to take some pictures for The Boutique.

Pillows

The clouds were moving quickly, so I furiously snapped photos each time the sun peeked out. I’m lucky I did, because moments later, it went back behind the clouds again. And there it stays.

I love. This. Pillow. I love it so much that I want to keep it. But I can’t. It doesn’t match anything in our home and we already have too many pillows. So I won’t. But I want to.  

whale pillow

The pink whale and the aqua blue water spurt (love!) are appliqued onto the brown background with fusible web and finished with a stitch.

whale pillow

The whole pillow is bordered with a one-inch strip of pink polka-dots, and the opening in the back is finished off with pink binding.

whale pillow binding

She can be found for sale here. That’s right, I said “she.” 

Before the sun went away for good, I also was able to slip in a few shots of the octopus pillow, which can be found in The Boutique here (update: SOLD!!).

octopus pillow

This graceful creature is made of pale yellow fabric, appliqued onto a deep purple background, and bordered in a rich aqua.

octopus pillow

I worked a little today on the seahorse pillow that I’m making for our home. I wonder how much longer this under-the-sea phase will last.

Alex and I are going to the movies this evening to see Juno, which we’ve heard is great. I’ve adored Michael Cera since Arrested Development. I wonder if he’s that sweet and likeable in real life. I like to think he is.

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Sewing, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Dreary weather Working by the light of the owl

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  January 22, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Very fine whale, if I do so say so myself. Too many pillows? Bah! A girl can never have too many. P.S. That quilt on my blog does have little poodles in it. Good eyes! I love finding little bits of really fun fabric in a quilt like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

