Perspective

January 25, 2008 at 1:19 am 4 comments

cubes

My fabric stash has been taking over my cutting table. I’ve kept most of my fabric in piles along the back of the table, and it’s been driving me insane. So today, I purchased a storage unit with six cubes to fit perfectly underneath the table, thinking “Oh, six cubes will never be enough to hold my many, many flowing yards of fabric. But at least it’s a start.”

cubes and Quinn

Not only did the shelves provide plenty of storage for my (measly) fabric “collection” (ha!), but there was one. Whole. Entire. Cube left over for a box. Funny how when it’s all folded nicely and placed into proper little storage cubes, it suddenly doesn’t look like a very impressive stash.

And I think we all know what that means. (Trip to the fabric store on my lunch break?)

cubes and Quinn

I’ve visited blogs where ladies have shared photos of their fabric collections, and some of them are just breath-taking. Fabric is so beautiful, and I find it especially pleasing when it’s organized by color. I just want to dive in and live among the rows and rows of bold prints and soft calicos, where it’s okay to mix red with pink, stripes with plaids, bright green apples with vintage Chinese lanterns.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Kitties, Things and stuff.

Working by the light of the owl Antelopes, beads and gifts from across the pond

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  January 25, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Wow all so nicely organized. I really need to organize myself too. We are actually moving around our spare room (spare in the sense that we have two bedrooms and we can’t sleep in them both!) I’ll have to scrounge around and see what I can find in thrift stores for organizers. I too have the fabric illness.

    Reply
  • 2. Jox  |  January 25, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    lovely tidy shelves, how long before your cats start using them as their own little block of flats? (apartment block)

    Reply
  • 3. Samsara  |  January 27, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Beautifully organised (something I lack, my stash is all in printer paper boxes *lol*) If I leave any of it out, my cats sleep on it 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Ellie  |  January 28, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    What a clever idea. I have just started collecting fabric and am wondering where I am going to keep it all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

