Antelopes, beads and gifts from across the pond

January 27, 2008 at 7:11 pm 3 comments

What a fun, full weekend.

antelope pillow

Friday, we celebrated my sister’s birthday. We grilled turkey burgers and I gave her the antelope pillow I made for her.

antelope pillow

She had said she wanted a pillow “with something random on it, like an antelope,” so that’s exactly what I did. The pillow is an interesting fusion of our two styles.

antelope pillow

Saturday was Gasparilla. We walked to the channel at the end of my street and started the day watching hundreds of people in boats throwing thousands of beads to the crowd on shore, followed up by the main attraction — an enormous boat filled with hundreds of pirates (they even hung from the masts) that eventually pulled up to the shore so that the pirates could “invade” Tampa.

We then walked about a mile to the Gasparilla parade, which consisted of pirate-themed floats, thousands of drunk people lining the streets, and beads, beads and more beads.

beads

And did I mention there were beads?

beads

The night ended with a large group of us back at my place playing beer pong. This was my first Gasparilla experience, and I must say, it was FUN. Catching the beads became almost like a game after awhile. And it was a perfect people-watching day. But the day was long, and even though it was a lot of fun, I’m glad it only happens once a year.

Amidst all this craziness, I managed to check the mail somewhere between the invasion and the parade and could not have been more excited to find this.

leaf brooch

Months ago, Jox at The Knitted Blog and I agreed to do a swap — I sent her a set of handmade coasters, and she sent me a beautiful hand-felted leaf brooch. However, when I received her envelope, it was empty. She had obviously mailed it to me, but somewhere between England and Florida, it had fallen out of the envelope.

So imagine my surprise when another one showed up in my mailbox yesterday with a lovely note from Jox saying that she hoped this one made it to me. I’m not sure that the photograph even does it justice — it’s truly a stunning brooch. Jox, thank you so much for sending this to me! I feel very lucky.  

PS — Coming up on my 100th post and starting to think about doing a giveaway. Any suggestions or requests?

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Things and stuff.

Perspective Invigorating

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jox  |  January 28, 2008 at 5:38 am

    so glad you’re loving the brooch.

    100 posts hey, how exciting!

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  January 28, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    ahhh that is so nice of her to resend you the brooch. It is really wonderful. I love how creative our blogging craft world is. so many people with such different talents and interests. The random antelope came out great. I would say for the give away you should do something with an applique. You have really shown that you are the queen of applique. Speaking of applique I discovered something new about it this weekend. will post that soon (although it is probably something you already know)

    Reply
  • 3. Ellen  |  January 31, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Isn’t it crazy fun to try to catch beads that people throw??? And why do we think so??? Jess and I I experienced this at Universal Studios (of all places!!!) celebrating Mardi Gras (disney-like-style!) and how incredibly energetically we jumped and reached and yelled to get something that we could have bought at Dollar Tree with no effort at all!!
    I am SOOO excited to get my pillow soon!
    LOVE YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

