Invigorating

January 29, 2008 at 8:44 pm 3 comments

Bettyninja left a comment on my blog a few days ago that put into words something I’ve been thinking for a while now. She said that she loves how creative our blogging craft world is, and that everyone has such different talents and interests.

Nola

One of the things I’ve grown to love the most about blogging is that I get to be a part of this amazing community of incredibly talented and artistic people.

Quinn

Although people in my “real” life support and appreciate what I do, they don’t have a deep understanding of it. My sister might really like the pillow I made for her birthday, but she probably doesn’t fully understand the amount of work and consideration and emotion that goes into it. And that even though it’s hard work, it’s also invigorating and fulfilling and fun. So much fun. Surely you know what I’m talking about!

I love getting comments from fellow bloggers, and then reading their blogs and seeing all the clever things they’ve been up to. Sometimes I’m inspired. Often I’m in awe of what others are capable of. And I always enjoy seeing everyone’s photographs.

candles

Alex and I found the lime green plate in the above photo on sale for $2 (!!!) at Urban Outfitters and thought it would be perfect for candles. When you have two cats in a small apartment, it doesn’t hurt to light a few vanilla-scented candles occasionally. The green and white tray is a gem we found in the sales bin at Anthropologie a few months ago. I don’t think I’ve ever purchased anything full price at Anthropologie. Their stuff is amazing but very, very expensive.

Here’s a peek at something I’ve started for The Boutique.

Yellow antelope

Yes, it’s an antelope pillow. I hope to finish and post it in The Boutique this week. I also have several new ideas bouncing around in my head, so we’ll have to see what happens there.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Look what I found, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Antelopes, beads and gifts from across the pond Change of plans

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily  |  January 30, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Well said. I often hesitate to give my creations away when I think the effort and agony 🙂 that went into them won’t be fully understood. A good home for handcrafted work appreciates the blood, sweat, and tears.

    I love the deep purple/citrus yellow fabric combination.

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  January 30, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Right on! Plus we like to see each other’s pets too. He he. How funny is it that they always have to help us with what we are doing? Okay I have a new challenge for your pillow appliques. What about an aardvark? hmmmm…Maybe not, I’m not sure silhouetted that they look very cute.

    Reply
  • 3. Jenaveve  |  January 31, 2008 at 12:01 am

    That’s right – there are some incredibly creative people out there, I’m just glad we’ve found a way to access all of these people and the community it has created through blogging. I’m constantly in awe of what people are making and the brilliant photography that is getting around online.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

