Change of plans

January 31, 2008 at 5:41 pm 4 comments

Last evening was a very, very lazy one.

cats on chaise

Alex had class and then homework, so I suppose it was just me and the cats being lazy. And the whole time, I was thinking of all the stuff I needed to work on — like the pillow for The Boutique and something for my 100th post giveaway — but I really didn’t have it in me to do anything. And I figured I could do it all tonight.

cats on chaise

There’s nothing like your oldest and dearest friend giving birth to click you into high gear and change your plans!

My friend K — who I’ve been friends with since we met on the bus in sixth grade — had her first child today. A little boy named Greyson. I’m thrilled and happy and so, so, so excited for her and her husband. She’s going to be an amazing mom. And I have a bunch of stuff that I need to make and send to her up in Pennsylvania to welcome their new little man into the world. So that’s what I’ll be doing tonight.

Now, it’s not like I haven’t had seven months to plan for this. And, well, I’ve planned for this. Lots of great plans up here in my little ol’ head. I’ve just been a horrible procrastinator when it came to actually putting my plans into action.

But not tonight. Tonight is devoted to K and Greyson. Like I said, there’s nothing like the actual birthing process to get a gal movin’.

Congratulations to K and D on the newest member of their happy little family!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Kitties, Things and stuff.

Invigorating Gifts for Greyson

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenaveve  |  January 31, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    That’s wonderful, and a very good reminder to myself who has a similar friend I should be planning for (it’s early days yet, but am a little clueless about baby needs). Tell us, what are you planning to make / buy for Greyson?

    Reply
  • 2. Florence  |  February 1, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Hi, I think your blog is great.
    I’ve tagged you for the 7 things meme. Please see my post at http://onecherryberry.blogspot.com/2008/01/seven-things-about-me.html
    I appologise if you have already been tagged and I won’t be offended if you don’t wish to participate.

    Reply
  • 3. Margaret  |  February 1, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Congrats to your friends. I love your cats and the photos. They look very comfortable!

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  February 1, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Congrats to your dear friend! I am so bad about getting things to people. See I actually tend to get around to making them in a decent amount of time, but I never can get to the post office or UPS store and actually send it to them. My friend had a baby three months ago and I’m afraid her baby clothes that I bought for him will no longer fit. Good thing is I also made a baby quilt. That should still fit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

