A girl can never have too many pillows

February 10, 2008 at 12:42 pm 4 comments

Another lovely, lazy Sunday for me to sip coffee, watch a movie and catch up on my crafts. And maybe take a nap. I love days like this.

seahorse pillow

I finished the seahorse pillow that I started several weeks ago as a companion to our octopus pillow.

pillows

I ran out of the dark brown fabric that I used on the octopus pillow, and since I had originally purchased the fabric years ago, I didn’t even try looking for an exact match. Instead, I used a solid dark brown for the seahorse pillow.

seahorse pillow

The bubbles on the seahorse pillow are made from the same fabric as the octopus, and both pillows are bordered in the same red polka-dot fabric. So even though the browns aren’t exactly the same, they still go together quite well.

octopus pillow

I did not originally sew an outline stitch around the octopus, but I think I may have to go back and do that now.

I’m concerned that something might be wrong with my camera. Many of the pictures came out blurry, even though there was plenty of lighting. I’m going to try using new batteries, and if that doesn’t work, I may have to consider getting a new one. They’ve improved leaps and bounds in the few years that I’ve had my camera, and I use mine all the time, so I think it would be worth the investment.

Does anyone have a digital camera that they would recommend?

Also, my 100th post came and went and I didn’t announce it or do any sort of giveaway. It happened right around the time that my friend had her baby, so it got put on the back burner. I’m still planning to do a giveaway at some point. I’m just not sure when. But I promise, I’ll do one!

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Sewing, Things and stuff.

Busted! Patch

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  February 11, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Those are the best kind of weekends! Even though the pillows do not use the same browns, they look cohesive because of the red polka dots. Polka dots are magical like that. I try to throw them into everything. I just got a new digital camera for x-mas that I love love love. It is a canon digital rebel xti. So worth the money!

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  February 11, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Happy 100th post!

    Reply
  • 3. Jenaveve  |  February 12, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Depends if you want a compact or a big cahuna SLR? If it’s compact, Santa brought me this last year and I just LOVE it (and a grabbed a case for $29 at JB HiFi) : a Canon Ixus 75
    http://www.canon.com.au/products/cameras/digital_compact_cameras/digitalixus75.aspx

    Reply
  • 4. Crosspaws  |  February 13, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Those pillows look great together! Even though the browns are different, the seahorses have bubbles, while the polka dots look like lots of tiny bubbles behind the octopus, so they coordinate perfectly. I love little matching details like that 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

