Patch

February 12, 2008 at 9:19 pm 2 comments

Here’s to new sewing projects…

new project

lazy kitties (are there any other kind?)…

Nola

and extremely talented tailors.

pink pea coat

Over the holidays, my favorite pink pea coat was accidentally singed by a candle. Long story. Big hole. Burnt edges. Almost cried. Don’t want to talk about it.

Luckily, the yucky brown part was not visible when I buttoned the coat, so I could wear it for the rest of our trip to Pennsylvania without being completely embarrassed. But I knew I either needed to get it fixed or, sadly, retire my favorite coat.

My tailor made it happen. She stole a small patch of fabric from somewhere else on the coat (I still haven’t figured out where — perhaps beneath the lining?) and carefully sewed it over the burn mark. It’s practically flawless. And I have a new hero.  

Entry filed under: Kitties, Sewing, Things and stuff.

A girl can never have too many pillows Just the other night at a hometown football game

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  February 13, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    That was a great tailoring job, you can’t even see it. Your post made me think about one of my favorite patch job. At eight I was very active and my favorite, soft, light blue jeans had huge holes in both knees. My mom used two big huge patches of denim and did a double zigzag stitch around the perimeter with pink and purple thread. It was like wearing demin knee pads–I loved em even more.

    Reply
  • 2. Erika  |  February 16, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I love your seahorse pillows! I think that would be sooo cute to get for my twin girls. They’re big into pillows lately and love to sit and lay on their big brothers dinosaur pillow. :oP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

