Quilting story

February 17, 2008 at 3:31 pm 4 comments

Once upon a time, I made quilts.

quilt

I made this quilt top five or six years ago out of leftover fabric from several other quilts and a pair of curtains that I found at the thrift store.

I have several quilt tops that I made years ago, but I find it difficult to get past that stage. One of the things holding me back is not knowing how to do the actual quilting. All of my completed quilts are tied, not quilted, and I think they look unfinished and amateur.

quilt

One of the problems with teaching myself how to sew and quilt is not knowing the “right” way to do things. Usually, it turns out okay, but sometimes it makes more sense to have someone teach me. I finished quite a few quilts before I learned what binding was and why it’s important. Until then, I sewed the layers together like a giant pillow, turned it inside out and hand-sewed the opening.

Quinn and quilt

Self-taught quilter over here!

I’m ready to learn how to do this correctly. My local fabric store offers a Quilting III class. To take the class, I must have a finished quilt top, and the instructor will teach the right way to complete it. I am very ready for this.

quilt

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing.

Just the other night at a hometown football game Autobiographically

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathi D  |  February 17, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I am pretty much like you. My mom taught me to sew very young, but wasn’t a quilter, so I am self-taught at that. Both my grandmas and some of my aunts were quilters, so I figure I do have a little genetic predisposition going on, although the urge to make quilts didn’t strike me until I was 50!

    The good thing about teaching yourself is that you know every wrong way to do it and experience is a great teacher. But it does help to learn the right way too, because often the right way is also the easy way–not always, but enough to make it worthwhile. Good luck with the classes and bring back reports–I may follow you into the classroom!

    Reply
  • 2. Alex  |  February 18, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Can’t wait to see what you make next! And I’m sure your sister will (finally) be thrilled to get her quilt!

    Reply
  • 3. Ellie  |  February 18, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Inga at Cotton Picker sent me some quilting squares to start making a mini quilt. I shall probably adopt your method of self-teaching!

    That quilt you made looks lovely, so with a few lessons I’m sure anythig you make will be amazing and treasured by your sister.

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  February 20, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Hi–sorry I have been away from blog world for a little while. I had the flu for a week! I love your little quilting autobiography. That is great to try a quilting class like that. I think I would like to find one near me too. I also taught myself the quilting part of quilting. I find that sometimes (it is always better looking on a smaller quilt) my quilting looks okay and most of the time, not so much. I also find that quilting looks much better than hand tying. I have found that a few simple quilting designs work best for me and getting the whole thing under the machine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

