Autobiographically

February 18, 2008 at 10:08 pm 5 comments

Alex and I chose simple black frames for the four prints we found on Etsy.

Etsy print

We thought the clean frames would keep the focus on the artwork, where it belongs. The above print is from The Black Apple, and the following three are from Elsita.

Etsy prints

Etsy prints

Now if we could just get around to hanging them.

I did a little organizing this weekend.

bookshelf

There is something so very pleasing about seeing things arranged by color. I’ve learned through other crafters’ blogs that many of you do the very same thing.

So tell me…what do you organize by color? And if not by color, how do you organize things? Alphabetically? Chronologically? There’s a wonderful scene in High Fidelity where John Cusack’s character is rearranging his thousands of records “autobiographically” — in order by the date he purchased them. Clearly, that method would only make sense to him. I love that.

Entry filed under: Things and stuff.

Quilting story Check

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenaveve  |  February 18, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    You know, I’ve never given much thought about color coding my bookshelves. Novel idea! (hehe, pun very much intended). I love it! That makes a lovely image.

    First – I just love both High Fidelity AND John Cusak (especially in America’s Sweethearts and Grosse Point Blank) but aside from that, I don’t know that I organise a lot by color, except of course my sewing threads.

    My bookshelves tend to be roughly organised by theme (ie. I have a whole shelf dedicated to everything Egyptian, another is all goth/supernatural, and another is all poetry and literature). But mostly they are sorted by their mood – I will group together all light-hearted ‘Devil Wears Prada’ type novels, any spooky Kim Wilkins will be in a group together, and then there’s the books that get me into thinking mode (Milan Kundera, Albert Camus, etc); but all must be sub-grouped by author.

    Reply
  • 2. Kathi D  |  February 19, 2008 at 1:13 am

    I hardly arrange anything! My husband keeps the books in perfect alphabetical order, divided by fiction/nonfiction and general subject matter. Oh to be so organized!

    Reply
  • 3. Ellie  |  February 19, 2008 at 7:00 am

    After reading your entry I’ve realised that other than my fiction books, which are in alphabetical order, the rest are a complete muddle. I love the idea of sorting them by colour, though I would still need to sort them by type/genre.

    Those books look so inviting by the way – I love the wood cabinet they are in.

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  February 20, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I am awful at organizing my things. I think I tend to organize based on what it is–for instance I think with books I tend to do biggest to smallest so they sit right. My fabric–by color–when it is organized. Those prints are so great by the way!

    Reply
  • 5. Jox  |  February 20, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    my books are in sections or departments (as like to call them)
    cookbooks in the kitchen; travel, art and reference in the lounge. Crafty books in a pile on the floor next to my bed and books I’ve just read or am about to in a wobberly pile on the bed side table.
    My partner is a bit more organised with novels, plays (he’s an actor) and biogs arranged alphabetically by author.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

