Weekend in Fernandina

February 23, 2008 at 6:54 pm 5 comments

I had to come to Fernandina on Friday for business, and I was able to turn it into a weekend trip so that I could spend ample time with my parents.  

downtown Fernandina

When I say I “had” to come to Fernandina for business, it makes it sound negative. I was thrilled to come up here. The “business” that I handled on Friday was presenting a high school student with a prize for winning third place in a contest. It was so much fun, and I hardly call it “work.”

The Quilt Expo was in Tampa this weekend, and I planned to go before this business trip came up. My mom and I were driving around after the award presentation on Friday and noticed a large sign that said “Quilt Show” at one of the local rec centers. So of course we went. And even though it was much smaller than the Tampa show, it had that pride, charm and sweetness that you only find with these sorts of small-town events.

The show boasted about 100 of the most gorgeous quilts I have ever seen, all of which were made by ladies from a local quilting guild. Seeing all of those stunning, intricate quilts made me that much more excited to take my quilting class.

I also picked up fabric from one of the vendors at the show.

fabric

This morning, after a delicious brunch at one of my favorite Fernandina cafes, my parents and I walked to the Farmer’s Market for some fresh fruit and a loaf of bread. 

farmer's market

The colors at the market are always so fresh and vibrant. 

farmer's market

Fernandina is one of those towns where everybody knows everybody, so we stopped and chatted with several people while we were downtown.

farmer's market

And, because I think he’s the most adorable thing in the entire world, here is a gratuitous shot of my parent’s 10-year-old yellow lab, Jazz. My mom will probably say his nose isn’t really that big in person…but it kinda is.

Jazz

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Look where I went, Things and stuff.

Check The Princess and the Pea she is not

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily Hilleke  |  February 23, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I went to a local quilt show this weekend as well. Patience of Job, those women have.

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  February 24, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Loved your recollections and photos of our weekend! You really capture the color and atmosphere of our little town, Fernandina. It was wonderful seeing you this weekend.

    Reply
  • 3. Betty  |  February 25, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    I would kill for fresh fruit these days. I’ve been trying to eat as local as possible, so that kind of rules out fresh fruit. I love photos of our old friends. Jazz looks like a really good friend.

    Reply
  • 4. Ellie  |  February 25, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Aah…Jazz is gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 5. beki  |  February 27, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Ooo, I love those fabrics you picked up, such pretty colors!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

