Subtlety

February 28, 2008 at 12:47 am 6 comments

I made my wonderful friend Candice a Toby Tote for her birthday, after she…um…subtly hinted that, you know, maybe she’d like one.  

Toby Tote

My original design called for red polka-dot handles, but I couldn’t resist using this charming yellow fabric instead after purchasing it last weekend.

Toby Tote

The black and white liner, however, was a sure thing from the beginning. The fabric is very much her style, and I purchased it because I knew (hoped!) she’d really like it.

Toby Tote

Candice is one of my only friends (if not my only friend) who’s into crafts, and she recently took a class to learn how to knit. She lives about an hour and a half away, otherwise I would have taken the class with her. In fact, I was sad that we weren’t able to learn how to knit together.

Perhaps I could drop a subtle hint that I’d, you know, maybe like a scarf for my birthday. I know it’s in May, and I know I live in Tampa, and I know it will probably be 100 degrees here by then, but still. Subtle hint vibes comin’ your way, Candice.

Happy birthday, my friend!

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies.

The Princess and the Pea she is not Coffee on the balcony

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily Hilleke  |  February 28, 2008 at 10:03 am

    I think the yellow is fabulous. Much more unexpected combination than black+white+red.

    If Tampa is anything like Louisiana, all you ever need to keep warm is a cozy scarf. Long sleeves for the especially frigid days. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Margaret  |  February 28, 2008 at 10:53 am

    I think a silk or cotton scarf would get some use in Tampa.

    Great bag! Love the colors.

    Reply
  • 3. Betty  |  February 28, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Very subtle hint. Yellow polka dots make me happy.

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  February 28, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I was trying to say that you have very subtly hinted to your friend. I realized after reading that it sounded like I was very subtly hinting at yellow polk dots.

    Reply
  • 5. Candice  |  February 29, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    You’re the best, my friend. I LOVE my bag. (everyone reading these comments needs to buy one immediately – you will not be dissapointed)

    I recently found some baby alpaca yarn that would make a yummy shawl or scarf. (Don’t worry, they only shave the babies! 🙂

    See…I can take hints too!

    Reply
  • 6. Ellie  |  March 3, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Yellow and black is such a classic look – works just perfectly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

