Aqua and red

March 19, 2008 at 5:16 pm 10 comments

Alex and I have been looking for a set of bowls to go with the rest of our dinnerware for almost a year, and we finally found some last night.

bowls

For my 30th birthday last May, he gave me a set of vintage hand-painted Red Wing dinnerware (click here for the whole story). The set was in perfect condition and included everything except bowls.

plates

We’d been using our old green bowls that absolutely do not match the rest of the set. That was until we found our new bowls last night.

We didn’t have the plates with us to compare the blues. Instead, we went with our gut, and it ended up being a frighteningly perfect match, right down to the hand-painted look.

plate and bowl

Our apartment is filled with light aquas and reds.

coffee and cereal

I’m almost always immediately attracted to those colors and I think they look great together.

red quilt

That red quilt has gotten a lot of use over the years, and it’s got the frayed edges and cat hair to prove it. I made it with several different types of fabric, including velvet and sateen, which gave the quilt texture but also caused some of the seams to fray and separate in the wash.

bowl and oven mitts

I’m not feeling well today and am having trouble keeping my eyes open. I think it may be time for a nap under that red quilt.

pillows

Entry filed under: Look what I found, Things and stuff.

A is for antelope Jack and Jill went up the hill

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bell  |  March 19, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    What a perfect match. They look awesome together. I love the dinnerset. Aqua & red is such a gorgeous combination too. It sort of calms the red.
    Bell

    Reply
  • 2. Bell  |  March 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    P.S. I hope you feel better soon

    Reply
  • 3. kathid  |  March 19, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    One of my favorite color combos too. My walls are a blueish green and I have lots of red accents. My kitchen countertop is Corian in a color called Beach Glass which is like your aqua, and all my linens and tools are red. So fresh!

    Reply
  • 4. Jox  |  March 20, 2008 at 6:54 am

    aqua and red rocks!
    i’m ill too, hope you feel better soon.

    Reply
  • 5. Betty  |  March 20, 2008 at 11:11 am

    That is a great combo of colors. I like had red is a real pop color and the aquas are sort of soothing in a way. Big kudos to Alex for going with vintage for a gift–so thoughtful and nice! I will have to nudge my boyfriend to go in that direction for me.

    Reply
  • 6. kalki  |  March 20, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Those bowls were meant for you to find. I love when that happens.

    Reply
  • 7. Felicia  |  March 22, 2008 at 7:00 am

    The bowls are a perfect match 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Crosspaws  |  March 23, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    The red and aqua are so pretty together. I also like red with aqua’a darker shade, teal.

    Reply
  • 9. julie  |  March 26, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    those are crazy-cool dishes…love them!

    Reply
  • 10. Phyl  |  March 26, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Just stopping by to thank you for joining in on my 200th Post Celebration and see what you have been up to:). I sure hope you feel better, soon.

    You will like my favorite quote: “I believe red is a neutral. There is no color that won’t be enhanced by red.” — Freddy Moran

    Great find on those bowls! There is red in every room of my house.

    Hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

