Jack and Jill went up the hill

March 26, 2008 at 6:33 pm 5 comments

Hi!

Quinn

I just realized it’s been a whole week since I posted!

As much as I like shopping at JoAnn Fabrics, I’ve been trying to find some small, locally owned fabric shops. I prefer giving my money to a non-chain, and smaller stores tend to have more interesting — and sometimes better quality — fabric choices.

I found a store online called Calico Corners and hunted it down last week only to find out that it’s a national upholstery fabric store, and not a “mom and pop” quilting fabric store like the name suggests. Calico Corners? How misleading! I have a few more fabric stores on my list to try, but most of them close at 6 p.m., which means rushing from work and fighting traffic. I’ll get there; it’s just not going to be as easy as swinging by JoAnn’s on my lunch break.

I ended up shopping for the first time at Hancock Fabrics, another chain. I’m not sure if all of the locations are the same, but the one in Tampa wasn’t very impressive. Many of the fabrics are old-fashioned (and not in a cool vintage way) and just not my style. However, I did walk out with two fabrics that I hadn’t seen elsewhere, including an adorable nursery rhyme print.

fabric

I finished my cousin’s (a.k.a. “my best customer’s”) dolphin pillow, which she received this week and promptly named “Delphine.”

dolphin pillow

She ordered this to go with the octopus pillow that she purchased from me last month. I hope they look great together.

pillow

A friend of mine ordered this apron and asked me to make a matching bib. It’s a very cute idea. I’ve never made a bib before, but I’ve figured out the design. In my head. The next step is seeing if my idea works in real life, which I’ll do this week. Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: Fabric, Handmade goodies, Kitties.

Aqua and red Fought and won

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kalki  |  March 26, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    We have a couple cute non-chain fabric stores here, and everytime I go past I get the urge to sew something.. We also have two fabulous yarn stores that give me the itch to stitch. Alas, I never act on these impulses.

    Reply
  • 2. Chellie  |  March 26, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Hancock Fabrics! That’s so backwoods, country girl of you! Next you’ll tell me you found something cute at Walmart!

    Reply
  • 3. Jenaveve  |  March 26, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Distance and closing hours are definitely a problem here! Good luck on your quest though, it’s great to take a risk and check out the ‘other’ stores – I’ve been doing the same around home lately, and it’s great to see how JoAnns (or in my case Spotlight and Lincraft) compare in not only prices, but quality and range, and those rare finds.

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  March 27, 2008 at 10:02 am

    I was wondering where you went with your bloggy self. That is cute photo of your cat on the top.

    I appreciate your quest for small fabric stores. There are a few around me that I try to shop at. While I really want to for the reasons you explain, I find that they just don’t get much new stuff.

    You have a Hancock Fabrics near you? Well I must be a backwoods girl too because I used to love my local Hancock Fabric store. Strange though, because ours shut down last year and I thought it was because the whole chain went out of business. Ours was a huge store with a ton of fabrics- in fact they had quite a nice quilters fabric section.

    You sure stay busy with all those orders! Good for you!

    Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  March 28, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I adore that Jack & Jill fabric. Hancock huh? who would have thought? :o)
    Can’t wait to see the bib.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

