75 cents

April 9, 2008 at 7:41 pm 4 comments

I finished a reversible apron for my friend’s custom order and finally managed to get some shots in before the sun went down today.

apron

The light blue fabric has tiny chocolate brown polka dots on it, which I think is a beautiful color combination.

apron

The other side is a busier pattern with greens and blues.

apron

I like to make my aprons with extremely long ties so that the wearer can tie it in the front if she wishes.

apron

This apron is the final item for this custom order. My next project is two bibs for another friend’s order. I’ve only recently made my first bib, but I really enjoy working on such a small scale.

Last week, I got to rummage through boxes filled with craft supplies that my coworker’s grandmother has been collecting for the last 40 years. There were crochet supplies, beads, old patterns, craft magazines, unfinished projects, quilt squares and lots and lots of fabric. I ended up only taking a very small box of fabric remnants and several packages of bias binding.

binding

I opened one package and saw on the label that they’re from 1971. The packaging is in perfect condition, and the binding fabric looks brand new. It’s hard to believe these are older than I am.

I love knowing that an avid crafter’s supplies are not going to waste.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Look what I found, Sewing, Vintage/antiques.

Saving grace How to cover a lampshade

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenaveve  |  April 10, 2008 at 1:50 am

    What an amazing opportunity. I’m sure your friend’s grandmother would be very happy knowing these will all be put to very good use. 1971!! That’s incredible – and all in mint condition. Great work!

    I love your apron by the way, especially the contrast with the red.

    Reply
  • 2. Annie  |  April 10, 2008 at 10:11 am

    What a great find! I recently inherited some of my grandmother’s sewing things as well- but there wasn’t any fabric. A whole lot of the stuff that one needs to repair girdles though. You know, if you need to do that sometimes…

    Reply
  • 3. JenBrenneman  |  April 10, 2008 at 10:23 am

    You have wonderful skills. I hope to aspire to your quality. I’m going to start out with a built by wendy pattern and see if I have what it takes. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  April 10, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Those bindings look delicious. Oh the things you can make!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

