Les enfants

April 21, 2008 at 3:47 pm 10 comments

I was surrounded by All Things Baby this weekend!

First, my oldest and dearest friend K asked me to make burp cloths for her new son, Greyson. Since I had no idea what a burp cloth was (can you tell I don’t have kids?), she emailed me a link to a style that she had seen online and really liked. So I used that as inspiration to make a set of six burp cloths.

burp cloths

I started with a white cloth diaper as my base, and then attached a three-inch-wide strip of fabric (with the raw edges folded under) to each one using a zigzag stitch.

burp cloths

I purposely stayed away from stereotypical “baby boy” fabrics. K is a young mom who has successfully managed to look cute and trendy even with a newborn spitting up on her shoulder, and I want her to have something that will look cool draped over her shoulder, even if it does has little bit of puke on it.

yellow burp cloth

Ah, the joys of motherhood.

burp cloths

I also finished bib numero deux for my other friend’s special order.

bib for

This time, I made it with chenille backing, after K (new, knowledgeable mommy!) suggested to me (ignorant-of-All-Things-Baby nonmommy!) that I put a soft, absorbent fabric on the back to help with all the wonderful slimy things that come out of a baby’s mouth.

bib back

Brilliant suggestion. I love how much texture the chenille adds. And it’s just so soft and cozy. I was tempted to make one for myself, but….well, that would just be weird.

Another one of my friends is very newly pregnant, so I’ll soon be making bibs and burp cloths for her. So many babies!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Sewing, Things and stuff.

Ricrac G

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kandi  |  April 21, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    OMG! You are awesome! We love them!

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  April 21, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Totally all for staying away from traditional boy colors too! I love the colors you choose, baby like without being too cutesey or boy. I still need to try zigzag the way you do it. By the way- I’ve been thinking up some sort of project/swap things that I have been meaning to pitch to you. I’ll send you a shout tomorrow.

    B

    Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  April 21, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Great ideas! I LOVE how yours turned out! I don’t have kids, but I know a lot of pregnant women. What brand/kind of diaper did you use for the burp cloths? I made some applique ones and I bought the Gerbers non folded (I think that’s the term) diapers for it… well, they turned out to be so thin and had such a loose weave that I had to fold them in half to get the desired thickness. In the end they looked pretty cute but I was seriously sweating it until riiiiight before they were finished.

    And thanks for passing along the note about putting something soft and absorbant on the other side of a bib! It makes so much sense but I would NOT have thought of it myself. Thank goodness for people like you on the internet!

    Reply
  • 4. Jacquie  |  April 21, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Nice work on the burp cloths. These diapers look different than the ones I use. I’d love to know what brand they are too.

    Reply
  • 5. Hannah  |  April 21, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    WOW, those look great! What a wonderful idea.

    Reply
  • 6. JenBrenneman  |  April 21, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    The recipients will love them. All are fabulous. Mad skillz.:)

    Reply
  • 7. kalki  |  April 21, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    I LOVE the burp cloths! Almost makes me want a baby…okay, not really. But I do love the burb cloths! Similar idea would be awesome for dish towels.

    Reply
  • 8. Emily Hilleke  |  April 22, 2008 at 9:10 am

    That IS a great idea for dish towels.

    Though I’ve seen a lot of the burp cloths, I’ve never seen the strip placed there before, or only 3 in. wide. Looks good!

    Reply
  • 9. Kandi  |  April 23, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Dish towels? Oh yeah! I definitely think I’d like dishtowels/handtowels with this idea. Oh, my creative juices are starting to flow!

    Reply
  • 10. Katie  |  May 1, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Hi again! I did some research on my question (why your diapers have a nice, tight weave while the diapers I used had a thin, loose weave).

    According to this (http://www.foreverymother.com/cloth-diapering.php) website, flat fold diapers (which I used because they were $1 less per pack) “is not the most absorbent diaper, but it is inexpensive and quick drying”… prefold diapers “are made out of a dense, tight weave cotton twill and are very absorbent… They come layered, usually 4x6x4 or 4x8x4, for greater absorbency and durability”.

    So… now I know. Don’t be cheap, spend the extra $ and get the thicker diaper. LOL

    I still love your tutorial! I’m going to have to try that one day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

