Wiggle room

April 28, 2008 at 5:23 pm 4 comments

At one point on Saturday, I realized that while Quinn was napping on the bed, Nola was nowhere to be found.

Quinn

Now, our apartment isn’t exactly huge, and there were really only a few places she could be, most of which are out in the open. I finally found her curled up inside the bottom of Alex’s suitcase, which was sitting straight up in the closet with various large items pressed up against either side of it. Because the suitcase was stacked in such tight quarters, there really wasn’t any wiggle room. The opening that she crawled through to get in there was tiny, and Nola is…well….really, really round. Chubby. Plump. Rotund. You get the idea. I still have no clue how she managed to squeeze her fat tummy through that tiny opening.

I feel like all I’ve been making are bibs and aprons lately, and I continued that trend on Saturday. First, a chenille-backed bib to finish K’s custom order.

bib

Second, a reversible Gertrude apron for J’s order.

apron

I love that icy blue-gray fabric, which I set off with black rather than my usual red and white polka dots. Look at me, branching out!

apron trim

The back is a fabric that I thought would be a nice warm contrast to the cooler tone of the front.

apron back

I promise my next post will be about something other than bibs and aprons. Maybe — if you’re lucky — I’ll even post a picture of Nola defying nature by squeezing herself through a half-inch wide opening.

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing, Things and stuff.

The Art of the Apron 16 miles

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sadie  |  April 28, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    I love your aprons, soooo cute!

    Reply
  • 2. Hannah Shaw  |  April 29, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Oh my goodness, that Nola. She should go on the road with Copperfield hahah. I just love your bibs and aprons. You know, I have absolutely no idea how to make an apron. Yours are adorable! Now did you make those custom or follow a pattern? You did a great job, I love the ric rac at the bottom!

    Reply
  • 3. Jacquie  |  April 29, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    A friend just asked me to make an apron for her mom for mother’s day. I knew just where to come. Is this your pattern, or do you have one you might recommend to me. Easier the better!

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  April 30, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Oh my gosh! Good thing you found her though. Scary. Sometimes we can’t find Lucky our cat, and Adam and I will run around the apartment looking for him. Last time we found him sitting under the chair at the kitchen table laughing at how silly we were.

    I like the black apron- you never see colors like that for aprons- makes it different and fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

