16 miles

April 30, 2008 at 4:50 pm 4 comments

I learned the other day that one of my very good college friends is moving from Colorado to St. Petersburg, Florida, at the end of May. That means that he’ll be living just 16 miles away from me, right across Tampa Bay. That’s a lot better than 2,000 miles!

He’s a great guy, and I’ve really missed him. I’m absolutely thrilled that he’ll be living so close to me.

apple note cards

The negative side of the story is that he’s leaving Colorado because he and his girlfriend — who I’m also close to and I also miss very much — just broke up after many years. Break ups are never easy, but they’re both such amazing people that I know they’ll eventually be okay on their own. And for completely selfish reasons, I’m glad he’s chosen to start the moving on process just 16 miles away from me!

Now if I could just get all my other friends who are spread across the country to move here…

note card

Last weekend, I didn’t just make bibs and aprons. I also made a set of four Golden Delicious note cards, similar to the ones for sale in The Boutique, for M’s custom order. The set comes with matching homemade self-sealing envelopes.

envelopes

I love making the envelopes. I use double-sided fusible web to adhere the seams closed, which means those suckers are secure.

apple with a bit out of it

I’ve been sewing so much lately that I’d forgotten how much fun it is to work with paper.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Paper goods, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Wiggle room Sale on Luna Satchels

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JenBrenneman  |  April 30, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    I am so unimaginitve but once again, great color choice and your work is high-quality, polished! Someday I will leave a comment that doesn’t say the same thing every time. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jacquie  |  May 1, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    These are fabulous. I see inspiration for a quilt! The apples would be wonderful applique! Love the colors and prints you used!

    Reply
  • 3. Hannah Shaw  |  May 3, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Those are amazing! Great job. You are so creative!

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  May 5, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    yummy golden delicious cards! You’ll have to start campaigning to get more people to move your way. Sunburns are a plus in my book

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

